عام

Alaka'i يصنع سيارات الطيران على الهيدروجين لأنهم لا يؤمنون بالبطاريات

خلايا الوقود الهيدروجينية بصعوبة كبيرةيتقدمون إلى الأمام كمصدر للطاقة للسيارات الكهربائية الأرضية ، ولكن العديد منهم بدأوا في البحث عن طرق بديلة للقيادة دون انبعاثات. قامت شركة Alaka'i Technologies ، التي بدأت تشغيل تاكسي جوي جديد ، بطرح طائرة كهربائية لخمسة ركاب ، تعمل بالهيدروجين السائل ، والتي ستكون ، وفقًا للمبدعين ، أكثر كفاءة وقوة من الطائرات التي تعمل ببطاريات يقوم العديد من المنافسين بتطويرها.

ما هو أكثر كفاءة: الكهرباء أو الهيدروجين؟

الشركة لإنشاء "سيارة طيران"يقع في ولاية ماساتشوستس ويديره أشخاص من ناسا ورايثين وإيرباص وبوينغ ووزارة الدفاع. في اليوم الآخر ، قدمت نموذجًا لطائرة ذات ستة مسامير تدعى Skai في لوس أنجلوس ، في مكتب BMW Designworks ، تعاونت معه في تصميم الطائرة. يقول Alaka'i أن المنتج النهائي يمكن أن تطير لمدة تصل إلى أربع ساعات وتغطي 600 كيلومتر لكل حمولة من الوقود ، والتي يمكن تجديدها في 10 دقائق في محطة تعبئة الهيدروجين. وفقًا للشركة ، قامت بإنشاء نموذج أولي وظيفي واسع النطاق ، والذي سيقوم بأول رحلة "في وقت قصير".

لن تكون هذه أول طائرة تعمل بالهيدروجين.خلية الوقود استعادتها شركة بوينج عام 2008. لكنه سيكون الأول من نوعه. لا يكون للتكوين ذي الشكل المربع في Skai مظهر ديناميكي ، كما هو الحال في النماذج الأولية من Lilium و Bell و ، نعم ، Boeing. تصل سرعتها إلى 224 كم / ساعة فقط ، بينما تعد مفاهيم eVTOL الأخرى (المركبات الكهربائية للإقلاع والهبوط العمودي) بسرعة تصل إلى 270 كم / ساعة. تم تطوير Skai بشكل أكثر كفاءة ، وهو أكثر أهمية من السرعة القصوى ، إذا كنت تقفز العشرات من القفزات القصيرة كل يوم.

"كانت مهمتنا لجعلهيقول بروس هولمز المخضرم في إدارة الطيران والفضاء الأمريكية (ناسا) ، وهو عضو في مجلس إدارة Alaka'i ، إنه بسيط وقد ركزنا على إنشاء صورة محددة لصورة قابلة لإعادة الاستخدام خلال اليوم.

حجة لخلايا الوقود يأتي إلىكثافة الطاقة: يقول برايان موريسون ، مؤسس ألكا ، إن رطلًا (نصف كيلوغرام تقريبًا) من الهيدروجين المضغوط يحتوي على طاقة تزيد 200 مرة عن رطل من البطاريات. هذا يعني أن Skai يمكنها تلبية متطلبات السرعة والمدى والقدرة الاستيعابية ، والتي ، في نظر Alaka'i ، ستجعلها قادرة على المنافسة ، مع السماح لها في الوقت نفسه بتوفير الوزن بشكل كبير - الاعتبار الرئيسي لكل شيء يطير. على الرغم من أن الشركة لم تكشف عن تفاصيل نظام إمداد الطاقة ، إلا أنها تنص على أنها ومورِّد خلايا الوقود (التي لم يتم الكشف عنها أيضًا) تمكنت من تحقيق "تقدم" في التكنولوجيا التي توفر الأداء المطلوب.

خلايا الوقود الهيدروجينية تثبت لهمالقدرة على زيادة وقت تشغيل أنظمة النقل بشكل ملحوظ: انتقلت بعض المركبات الجوية الصغيرة بدون طيار من 30 إلى 45 دقيقة من عمر البطارية إلى 2-4 ساعات من تشغيل خلايا الوقود ، كما يقول توماس فالديز ، المهندس الكيميائي في Teledyne Energy Systems. وهي توفر مزايا السلامة من خلال القضاء على خطر التسارع الحراري للبطارية. حتى دبابة مكسورة ليست مشكلة. يقول فالديز: "سوف يتبدد الهيدروجين بسرعة كبيرة في الهواء تحت الضغط ، لذلك لن يتراكم أو يشعل مثل الوقود التقليدي".

بالطبع ، كما هو الحال مع جميع الشركات الناشئة المتعلقةعن طريق التاكسي الجوي ، Skai لديه الكثير من المشاكل. أهمها هو ضمان استلام شهادة FAA في الوقت المناسب ، وهو أمر غير مضمون ، نظرًا لتركيب نظام دفع جديد في جهاز من نوع جديد. يعتقد هولمز أن البناء البسيط سيساعدهم هنا.

لدينا عدد أقل بكثير من قطع الغيار اللازمةمقارنة بالطائرات التقليدية ونصف المتطلبات التي يجب على القوات المسلحة الأنغولية اختبارها. لا يوجد لدى Skai دوار خلفي ، والمظلة البالستية تعني أنها لا تحتاج إلى الاعتماد على الانعطاف التلقائي للهبوط الآمن في حالة انقطاع التيار الكهربائي. البراغي الستة التي تنتج 450 حصانا في وضع ثابت ولا تدور قبل الإقلاع العمودي أو الأفقي.

للتعامل مع هذه المهمة ، Alaka'iتخطط لتخطي خدمة التاكسي الجوي في مرحلة مبكرة ، مع التركيز بدلاً من ذلك على خدمات الطوارئ ومهام البحث والإنقاذ ونقل البضائع. هذه الأدوار لا تتطلب نفس معايير شهادة رحلات الركاب. هولمز متفائل للغاية: تستغرق الشهادات بضعة أشهر فقط (وسيتم الانتهاء منها بحلول نهاية عام 2020) بدلاً من السنوات الخمس إلى العشر القياسية.

الهيدروجين ، بطبيعة الحال ، لديه عيب ، وهيحقيقة أن ليس كثيرا حولها. عدم وجود بنية تحتية للتزود بالوقود يجعل من الصعب على المركبات البرية تشغيل الهيدروجين ، لكن الطائرات قد تكون أسهل. بدلاً من الاعتماد على محطات الوقود في كل زاوية ، قد يكون لدى الطائرات مراكز مركزية للتزود بالوقود تزودها الناقلات.

يمكن أن تكون تكاليف المعدات عقبة محتملة أخرى.

"خلايا وقود الهيدروجين تستخدم فيمركبة فضائية لبعض الوقت. يقول تشارلز إيستليك ، الأستاذ الفخري لهندسة الفضاء الجوي بجامعة الطيران ، إنها تقنية مجربة. امبري ريدل. "لكن التكلفة تمنعهم".

ويلاحظ أن مشروع إنشاء واحدتضمنت الطائرة الكهربائية ، التي تعهدت بها الجامعة في عام 2011 ، خلية وقود تكلفتها 250 ألف دولار في السوق المفتوحة ، وكل ذلك لتشغيل محرك كهربائي صغير نسبياً 40 حصان. على الرغم من أن التقنيات لم تتحسن إلا منذ ذلك الحين ، ولكن التكلفة تنخفض ، إلا أنها لن تنخفض كثيرًا ، بالنظر إلى أن معظم الدولارات التي تنفق على البحث والتطوير يتم نقلها إلى بطاريات.

يقول Alaka'i سيتم إطلاق الأولالطائرة ، وفقط بعد ذلك تم تنفيذ وضع مؤتمتة للغاية ومستقلة تماما. تركز الشركة الناشئة على سعر حوالي 200000 دولار ، على الرغم من أن النماذج الأولى من المرجح أن تكون أكثر تكلفة بكثير. الإنتاج سيكون حوالي 10000 سنويا. هذا رقم ضخم: لا ينتج أي من المصنعين أكثر من 700 طائرة.

في النهاية ، يريد Alaka'i إنشاء إصداراتفي متناول جميع المواطنين ، فقط في فئة الأسعار ، والسيارات الفاخرة. الفرق الرئيسي ، بالطبع ، هو أن هذه السيارات يمكن أن تطير.

حسنا ، البدء في حفظ؟ ستجد المزيد من القصص في قناة التلغراف الخاصة بنا.

General

Alaka’i builds flying cars on hydrogen because they don’t believe in batteries

Hydrogen fuel cells with great difficultyare moving forward as an energy source for ground electric vehicles, but many are beginning to look for alternative ways to drive without emissions. The new air taxi startup, Alaka’i Technologies, this week introduced an electric aircraft for five passengers, powered by liquid hydrogen, which, according to the creators, will be more efficient and powerful than aircraft powered by batteries that many competitors are developing.

What is more efficient: electricity or hydrogen?

The company to create a "flying car"is located in Massachusetts and is run by people from NASA, Raythein, Airbus, Boeing, and the Department of Defense. The other day, she presented a mockup of an aircraft with six screws called Skai in Los Angeles, in the office of BMW Designworks, with which she collaborated on the design of the aircraft. Alaka’i says that the final product can fly up to four hours and cover 600 kilometers per load of fuel, which can be replenished in 10 minutes at a hydrogen filling station. According to the company, it has created a functional full-scale prototype, which will make its first flight “in a short time”.

This will not be the first hydrogen powered aircraft.fuel cell; Boeing made it back in 2008. But he will be the first of its kind. The box-shaped configuration of the Skai does not have an aerodynamic appearance, as in the prototypes from Lilium, Bell and, yes, Boeing. It reaches a speed of only 224 km / h, while other eVTOL concepts (electric vehicles for vertical take-off and landing) promise a speed of up to 270 km / h. Skai was developed more for efficiency, which is more important than maximum speed, if you dozens of short jumps every day.

"Our task was to make itsimple and we focused on creating a specific image of a reusable image during the day, ”says NASA veteran Bruce Holmes, who is on the board of directors of Alaka’i.

The argument for fuel cells comes down toenergy density: a pound (almost half a kilogram) of compressed hydrogen contains 200 times more energy than a pound of batteries, says Alaka’i founder Brian Morrison. This means that Skai can satisfy the requirements for speed, range and carrying capacity, which, in the opinion of Alaka’i, will make it competitive, while at the same time allowing it to significantly save weight - the main consideration for everything that flies. Although the company did not disclose the specifics of the power supply system, it states that it and its fuel cell supplier (which is also not disclosed) managed to make a “breakthrough” in the technology providing the desired performance.

Hydrogen fuel cells prove theirthe ability to significantly increase the operating time of transport systems: some small unmanned aerial vehicles have switched from 30–45 minutes of battery life to 2–4 hours of working with fuel cells, says Thomas Valdez, chemical engineer at Teledyne Energy Systems. And they offer safety benefits by eliminating the risk of thermal acceleration of the battery. Even a broken tank is not a problem. “Hydrogen will dissipate very quickly in the air under pressure, so it will not accumulate or ignite like conventional fuels,” says Valdez.

Of course, as with all startups related toby air taxi, Skai has a lot of problems. The main one is to ensure the timely receipt of the FAA certificate, which is not guaranteed, given the installation of a new propulsion system in the apparatus of a new type. Holmes believes that a simple construction will help them here.

“We have significantly fewer spare parts forcompared with traditional aircraft and half the requirements that the FAA should test, ”he says. Skai does not have a tail rotor, and a ballistic parachute means that it does not need to rely on an auto-turn for a safe landing if power drops. The six screws that produce 450 horsepower are in a fixed position and do not rotate before a vertical or horizontal take-off.

To cope with this task, Alaka’iplans to skip the air taxi service at an early stage, focusing instead on emergency services, search and rescue missions and cargo transportation. These roles do not require the same certification standards as passenger flights. Holmes is extremely optimistic: certification will take only a few months (and will be completed by the end of 2020) instead of the standard five to ten years.

Hydrogen, of course, has a disadvantage, namelythe fact that its not so much around. The lack of refueling infrastructure makes it difficult for land-based vehicles to run on hydrogen, but airplanes may be easier. Instead of relying on gas stations at every corner, airplanes may have more centralized refueling centers supplied by tankers.

Equipment costs can be another potential obstacle.

"Hydrogen fuel cells are used inspacecraft for quite some time. This is a proven technology, ”says Charles Eastlake, an honorary professor of aerospace engineering at the University. Embry-Riddle. "But cost prevents them."

He notes that one creation projectThe electric aircraft, which the university undertook in 2011, included a fuel cell that would have cost $ 250,000 on the open market, all to power a relatively small 40-horsepower electric motor. Although technologies have only improved since then, but the cost is falling, it will not fall much, considering that most of the dollars spent on R & D are transferred to batteries.

Alaka’i says that the first will be launched firstthe plane, and only then a highly automated and fully autonomous mode was implemented. The startup focuses on the price of about $ 200,000, although the first models are likely to be much more expensive. Production will be about 10,000 per year. This is a huge number: none of the manufacturers produce more than 700 aircraft.

Ultimately, Alaka’i wants to create versionsaccessible to all citizens, only in the price category, as luxury cars. The key difference, of course, is that these cars can fly.

Well, begin to save? You will find more stories in our Telegraph channel.