بحث

يمكن لعينة صغيرة من الماء أن تخبرنا عن التنوع البيولوجي للبحار والمحيطات.

ويرد دراسة السكان والنباتات تحت الماءالعلماء صعبون للغاية - وغالبًا ما يتطلب ذلك نزول الغواصين إلى الماء ، الأمر الذي يكلف الكثير من المال. لحسن الحظ ، في بعض الأحيان يتمكنون من استبدال الفحص البصري عن طريق مسح ما يسمى "الحمض النووي الإيكولوجي" ، وهو مادة بيولوجية تفرزها الكائنات المائية. نتيجة لهذا ، تمكن العلماء من تحديد وجود مناطق معينة من أسماك القرش الأبيض ، والآن استخدموا هذه الطريقة لتحديد وفرة وتنوع الشعاب المرجانية.

كما ذكر آنفا ، تم ذلك بصريا ،فريق من الغواصين. الآن قرر باحثون من جامعة هاواي في مانوا أن يستخدموا لهذا الغرض طريقة metabarcoding لـ "DNA البيئي" الموجودة في عينات المياه. تتضمن هذه الطريقة لتقييم التنوع البيولوجي تحديد الحمض النووي وتسلسله - تحديد الحمض الأميني أو تسلسل النوكليوتيدات.

لمفاجأة العلماء ، أعطت الطريقة دقيقة للغايةالنتائج. سمحت تسلسلات الحمض النووي المحددة للعلماء بفهم بالضبط أي الشعاب المرجانية تنمو في شعاب معينة ، وتحدث تركيزهم مباشرة عن عددهم. باختصار ، كان الاستنتاج على النحو التالي - في الماء مع الشعاب المرجانية السليمة ، هناك الكثير من "الحمض النووي البيئي" ، وفي الماء مع الشعاب المرجانية المهينة تكون أقل بكثير.

ما زال يذهلني أن هناك معلومات كافية في عينة صغيرة من المياه لتتبع الوفرة النسبية لمجتمعات بأكملها.

باتريك نيكولز ، طالب دكتوراه ، قسم الأحياء البحرية

ويأمل الباحثون أنهم بهذه الطريقةستتمكن أيضًا من تتبع التغييرات في تكوين الشعاب المرجانية ، بالإضافة إلى العثور على أنواع نادرة من الشعاب المرجانية يمكن تفويتها أثناء الفحص البصري. كل هذا ممكن - منذ بضع سنوات ، استخدم العلماء عينات من المياه لاكتشاف أسماك قرش الحوت النادرة للغاية.

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، فننصحك بالاشتراك في قناتنا في ياندكس. ستجد هناك مواد لا تضرب الموقع!

Research

A small sample of water can tell about the biological diversity of the seas and oceans.

The study of underwater inhabitants and plants is givenscientists are pretty hard - most often this requires the descent of scuba divers into the water, which costs a lot of money. Fortunately, sometimes they manage to replace the visual inspection by scanning the so-called "ecological DNA", which is a biological material secreted by aquatic organisms. Due to this, scientists were able to determine the presence in certain areas of white sharks, and now they have used the method to identify the abundance and diversity of coral reefs.

As mentioned earlier, this was done visually,a team of scuba divers. Now researchers from the University of Hawaii in Manoa have decided to use for this purpose the method of metabarcoding of “ecological DNA” contained in water samples. This method of assessing biological diversity involves the identification of DNA and its sequencing - the determination of the amino acid or nucleotide sequence.

To the surprise of scientists, the method gave very accurateresults. Specific DNA sequences allowed scientists to understand exactly which corals grow in a particular reef, and their concentration directly spoke of their number. In short, the conclusion was as follows - in the water with healthy coral reefs there is a lot of “environmental DNA”, and in the water with degrading reefs they are much less.

It still amazes me that there is enough information in a small sample of water to track the relative abundance of entire communities.

Patrick Nichols, PhD Student, Department of Marine Biology

The researchers hope that in this way theyYou will also be able to track changes in the composition of the reefs, as well as to find rare species of corals that can be missed during visual inspection. All this is quite possible - a few years ago, scientists used water samples to detect extremely rare and huge whale sharks.

If you are interested in the news of science and technology, we recommend that you subscribe to our channel in Yandex.Dzen. There you will find materials that do not hit the site!