بحث

بضعة نفث في السجائر كما مراهق غيرت عقلك

لقد قيل الكثير بالفعل عن مخاطر تدخين السجائر. يعلم الجميع الآثار السلبية للتدخين والنيكوتين على الجهاز التنفسي والعصبي والقلب والأوعية الدموية. ومع ذلك ، تشير دراسة حديثة أجراها علماء أمريكيون إلى أنه حتى زوجين من نفث السجائر في فترة المراهقة يسببان تغييرات لا رجعة فيها في الدماغ ، مما قد يؤدي إلى عواقب غير سارة في المستقبل.

ما هو الخطر الرئيسي للسجائر؟

بالإضافة إلى الراتنجات والمنتجات غير الصحيةحرق ، المادة الخطرة الرئيسية الموجودة في السجائر هي النيكوتين. النيكوتين مادة قوية عصبية ، أي أن هدفها هو خلايا الدماغ. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يؤدي النيكوتين أيضًا إلى اعتماد قوي جدًا. يحدث هذا ، بشكل عام ، على النحو التالي: في الدماغ هناك مستقبلات النيكوتين الخاصة ، التي تعمل عليها ، يتم إطلاق مادة خاصة تسمى الدوبامين. يُطلق على الدوبامين أيضًا "هرمون الفرح" ، لأنه عندما يتم إطلاقه ، يكون الشخص يعاني من أحاسيس ممتعة.

من أين تأتي هذه المستقبلات في المخ؟ كل شيء بسيط: الحقيقة هي أن النيكوتين وحمض النيكوتين هما المنتجان الضروريان للحفاظ على النشاط الحيوي لجسمنا ويتم تصنيعهما عادة بكميات صغيرة. ومع ذلك ، عند التدخين ، يزيد تركيز هذه المادة في الدم عدة مرات ويوجد "بديل" للنيكوتين ، الذي يتكون في الجسم ، بالنيكوتين ، الذي يأتي من الخارج. وبالتالي ، فإن تشكيل إدمان النيكوتين يحدث.

انظر أيضا: الحمض النووي "غير المرغوب فيه" يمكن أن يسبب إدمان المخدرات

ما هو خطير وجود إدمان النيكوتين

دراسة جديدة للدكتور بدرأظهر شاراني من جامعة فيرمونت ، ونشر في مجلة الطب النفسي البيولوجي: علم الأعصاب الإدراكي والتصوير العصبي ، أن المراهقين الذين يدخنون فقط عدد قليل من السجائر كان لديهم نقاط تشابك أقل في الدماغ من أقرانهم الذين لم يدخنوا قط. المشابك هي هياكل خاصة مسؤولة عن الترابط بين مناطق الدماغ وهياكلها مع بعضها البعض. بمعنى تقريبي ، كلما زاد عددهم - كلما كان دماغنا أفضل وأكثر إنتاجية. قد يعني هذا أن أدمغة المدخنين المراهقين ستتطور وتعمل بشكل مختلف ، مما قد يؤثر على صنع القرار والتحكم الذاتي في مرحلة البلوغ.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، المراهقة جدافترة ضعيفة من التطور يمكن خلالها أن يؤدي التعرض للنيكوتين إلى تغيير جذري في عمل الجهاز العصبي المركزي بأكمله. آثار النيكوتين على البالغين لها آثار سلبية أقل. هذا يرجع إلى حقيقة أن عقولنا تتطور خلال العقود الثلاثة الأولى من الحياة. خلال هذه الفترة من النضج ، يتم ترتيب سلاسل الدماغ ، وخاصة تلك التي تشارك في وظيفة المكافأة (سبق ذكرها الدوبامين) وفي عمليات التفكير والإدراك.

في الوقت نفسه ، أظهرت الدراسات ذلكلدى المدخنين المراهقين ، تظهر أعراض إدمان النيكوتين في مستويات أقل من النيكوتين مقارنة مع البالغين ، الذين يبدأون بالتدخين في نهاية العقد الثاني من العمر.

جوهر العمل

سجل الدكتور الشعاراني فريق البحثأكثر من 600 من المراهقين الذين تتراوح أعمارهم بين 14 وحساب عدد السجائر المدخنة لكل مشارك في التجربة. وكان من بين المشاركين أولئك الذين لم يدخنوا قط ، والذين يدخنون 40 سيجارة أو أكثر.

درس الباحثون أدمغة كل من المراهقينباستخدام التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي الوظيفي (MRI). تم استخدام هذه الصور لتقدير مقدار المادة الرمادية في المخ ، مما يساعد على تحديد مدى اتصال أجزاء معينة من الدماغ ببعضها البعض. وجد الدكتور الشاراني والفريق أن التدخين حتى بعض السجائر تسبب في انخفاض كبير في حجم المادة الرمادية ، وبالتالي انخفاض في عدد الوصلات العصبية. في هذه الحالة ، كلما زاد عدد السجائر التي يدخنها المراهقون ، كان هناك انخفاض في حجم المادة الرمادية للدماغ. بالمناسبة ، يتم تسجيل هذه التغييرات أيضًا في الأشخاص الذين يعانون من إدمان المخدرات والكحول.

في الوقت الحالي ، يركز العلماء علىلفهم أفضل لتأثير النيكوتين على دماغ المراهقين. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحذر الخبراء من أن "مصدر" النيكوتين لا يهم. يتأثر الدماغ بنفس القدر بالنيكوتين الناتج عن منتجات التبغ والنيكوتين المشتق من السجائر الإلكترونية.

ناقش هذا وغيرها من الأخبار التي يمكنك في موقعنا الدردشة في برقية.

Research

A few puffs in cigarettes as a teenager changed your brain

Much has already been said about the dangers of smoking cigarettes. Everyone knows the negative effects of nicotine and tobacco smoke on the respiratory, nervous and cardiovascular systems. However, a recent study by American scientists suggests that even a couple of cigarette puffs in adolescence cause irreversible changes in the brain, which can lead to not very pleasant consequences in the future.

What is the main danger of cigarettes

In addition to unhealthy resins and productsburning, the main hazardous substance contained in cigarettes is nicotine. Nicotine is a strong neuroactive substance, that is, its target is brain cells. In addition, nicotine also causes a very strong dependence. This happens, in general terms, as follows: in the brain there are special nicotinic receptors, acting on which, a special substance called dopamine is released. Dopamine is also called the “hormone of joy”, because when it is released, a person experiences pleasant sensations.

Where do these receptors in the brain come from? Everything is simple: the fact is that nicotine and nicotinic acid are necessary products for the maintenance of our body’s vital functions and are normally synthesized in small quantities. However, when smoking, the concentration of this substance in the blood increases many times and there is a "replacement" of nicotine, which is formed in the body, by nicotine, which comes from outside. Thus, the formation of nicotine addiction occurs.

See also: "Junk" DNA can cause drug addiction

What is dangerous the presence of nicotine addiction

A new study by Dr. BaderChaarani from the University of Vermont, and published in the journal Biological Psychiatry: Cognitive Neuroscience and Neuroimaging, showed that teenagers who smoked only a few cigarettes had fewer synapses in the brain than their peers who had never smoked. Synapses are special structures that are responsible for the interconnection of brain regions and its structures with each other. Roughly speaking, the more of them - the better and more productive our brain works. This may mean that the brains of adolescent smokers will develop and function differently, which can affect decision-making and self-control in adulthood.

In addition, adolescence is veryvulnerable period of development during which exposure to nicotine can fundamentally change the work of the entire central nervous system. The effects of nicotine on adults have less negative effects. This is due to the fact that our brain develops during the first three decades of life. During this period of maturation, the brain chains are rearranged, especially those that are involved in the reward function (already mentioned dopamine) and in the processes of thinking and perception.

At the same time, studies have shown thatadolescent smokers, symptoms of nicotine addiction appear at lower levels of nicotine than in adults, who begin to smoke at the end of the second decade of life.

Essence of the work

Dr. Chaarani’s research team scoredmore than 600 adolescents aged 14 and counted the number of cigarettes smoked for each participant in the experiment. Among the participants were those who never smoked, and those who smoked 40 or more cigarettes.

The researchers studied the brains of each of the teensusing functional magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). These images were used to estimate the amount of gray matter in the brain, which helps to determine how well certain parts of the brain are connected to each other. Dr. Chaarani and the team found that smoking even a few cigarettes caused a significant decrease in the volume of gray matter, and therefore a decrease in the number of neuronal connections. In this case, the greater the number of cigarettes smoked by adolescents, the more there was a decrease in the volume of gray matter of the brain. By the way, such changes are also recorded in people with drug and alcohol addiction.

At the moment, scientists are focused onto better understand the effect of nicotine on adolescent brain. In addition, experts warn that the "source" of nicotine does not matter. The brain is equally affected by both nicotine from tobacco products and nicotine derived from electronic cigarettes.

Discuss this and other news you can in our chat in Telegram.