بحث

قبل 3.5 مليار سنة ، كانت هناك حياة على الأرض أثبتت جدواها

مرة أخرى في 80s من القرن الماضي فياكتشفت أستراليا حفريات عمرها 3.5 مليار سنة. حتى ذلك الحين ، اقترح العلماء أن هذه الحفريات قد تحتوي على بقايا الكائنات الحية. ومع ذلك ، في ذلك الوقت لم تكن هناك تقنيات تؤكد أو تدحض هذه الفرضية. ولكن ، كمحرري مجلة ScienceAlert ، وصل العلماء أخيرًا إلى الحقيقة.

تم اكتشاف الحفريات القديمة في هذه المنطقة.

منذ متى كانت الحياة موجودة على الأرض؟

الحفريات القديمة التي سبق ذكرها كانتوجدت في منطقة بيلبارا - هذه منطقة كبيرة مهجورة وذات كثافة سكانية منخفضة في شمال الجزء الغربي من القارة الأسترالية. تجدر الإشارة إلى أن هذا ليس أول اكتشاف من هذا القبيل. في السابق ، وجد العلماء بالفعل (وإن لم يكن هنا ، ولكن على أراضي غرينلاند) المزيد من الحفريات القديمة التي يبلغ عمرها 3.7 مليار سنة. ولكن لم تكن هناك بقايا عضوية في تكوينها. في هذه الحالة ، تبين أن كل شيء مختلف قليلاً.

هذا اكتشاف مثير. لأول مرة ، تمكنا من إظهار أن الحفريات التي عثر عليها قبل 40 عامًا هي دليل حقيقي على وجود الحياة على كوكبنا في المرحلة المبكرة جدًا من تكوينه. يقول الجيولوجي رافائيل بومغارتنر من جامعة نيو ساوث ويلز (UNSW) في أستراليا.

قام العلماء بحفريات من أسترالياسلسلة من الاختبارات. علاوة على ذلك ، إذا تم استخدام عدد قليل منها في المواقف العادية لتحليل المعادن ، فقد تقرر الآن استخدام جميع الطرق الممكنة. إذا كان هناك فجأة بين قرائنا علماء جيولوجيون ، فسيكونون مهتمين بمعرفة كل أنواع التلاعب التي أجريت مع الحفريات:

  • مسح المجهر الإلكتروني.
  • المسح المجهر الإلكتروني للإرسال.
  • أشعة سينية طيفية مشتتة للطاقة.
  • رامان التحليل الطيفي.
  • مقياس طيف الكتلة الأيونية النانوية الثانوية.
  • تحليل نظائر الكربون المستقرة.

لماذا تحتاج إلى استخدام كل هذهطرق مستعصية؟ الأمر بسيط: أراد العلماء أن يستبعدوا احتمال فقد شيء ما ، لأنه حتى أصغر جسيم بيولوجي يمكنه تأكيد تخمينات الخبراء. وهذا ما حدث. وعدم تفويت أهم شيء من عالم العلوم سيساعد على الاشتراك في قناة Telegram الخاصة بنا.

هذا مثير للاهتمام: كيف تصبح حفرية؟

وأظهر تحليل بقايا الحفريات أنهم فيتتكون أساسا من معدن يسمى البايرايت. خصوصية البايرايت هو أن يتم اختراقها من قبل أصغر المسام غير المرئية للعين البشرية. أظهر الفحص العميق لمسام المادة وجود الكثير من المواد العضوية المحتوية على النيتروجين داخل البايرايت ، والذي يبدو أنه نتاج النشاط الحيوي للكائنات الحية الدقيقة. لكن هذا ليس كل شيء. تم العثور على خيوط عضوية ، تشبه إلى حد كبير في تكوينها لجدران أغشية البكتيريا الحديثة ، في مسام البايرايت.

هيكل مسام البايرايت والأماكن التي توجد بها آثار للبكتيريا

يؤكد العلماء أن الأبحاث الجديدة لن تساعدفقط لفهم أن الحياة على كوكبنا قد ولدت في وقت أبكر مما كنا نظن ، ولكن في المستقبل ستتيح أيضًا اكتشاف "علم الأنساب" لكواكب أخرى. بعد كل شيء ، إذا تم العثور على حفريات مماثلة على كواكب تبدو بلا حياة ، الآن سنعرف ماذا نفعل بها.

Research

3.5 billion years ago, there was life on earth - proven

Back in the 80s of the last century inAustralia has discovered fossils of 3.5 billion years old. Even then, scientists have suggested that the remains of living organisms may be present in these fossils. However, at that time there were no technologies that would confirm or refute this hypothesis. But, as the editors of ScienceAlert, the scientists finally got to the bottom of the truth.

The ancient fossils were discovered in about this area.

How long has life existed on earth?

The ancient fossils already mentioned werefound in the Pilbara region - this is a large, deserted and sparsely populated region in the north of the Western part of the Australian continent. It is worth noting that this is not the first such find. Previously, scientists have already found (though not here, but on the territory of Greenland) even more ancient fossils with an age of 3.7 billion years. But there were no organic residues in their composition. In this case, everything turned out to be a little different.

This is an exciting discovery. For the first time, we were able to show that the fossils found almost 40 years ago are really proof of the existence of life on our planet at the very early stage of its formation. Says geologist Rafael Baumgartner of the University of New South Wales (UNSW) in Australia.

Scientists have done with fossils from Australiaa series of tests. Moreover, if in ordinary situations only a few of them are used to analyze minerals, now it was decided to use all possible methods. If suddenly among our readers there are geologists, then they will be interested to know all kinds of manipulations that were carried out with fossils:

  • Scanning electron microscopy.
  • Scanning transmission electron microscopy.
  • Energy dispersive x-ray spectroscopy.
  • Raman spectroscopy.
  • Nanoscale secondary ion mass spectrometer.
  • Analysis of stable carbon isotopes.

Why did you need to use all of theseintractable methods? It's simple: scientists wanted to exclude the possibility that something might be missed, because even the smallest biological particle could confirm the guesses of experts. And so it happened. And not to miss the most important thing from the world of science will help to subscribe to our Telegram channel.

This is interesting: How to become a fossil?

Analysis of fossil remains showed that they are inmainly composed of a mineral called pyrite. The peculiarity of pyrite is that it is penetrated by the smallest pores that are not visible to the human eye. A deep scan of the pores of the material showed that quite a lot of nitrogen-containing organic materials are present inside the pyrite, which are, apparently, products of the vital activity of microorganisms. But that's not all. Organic filaments very similar in composition to the membrane walls of modern bacteria were also found in the pores of pyrite.

The structure of pores of pyrite and the place where traces of bacteria were found

Scientists assure that new research will not helponly to understand that life on our planet was born earlier than we thought, but in the future it will also make it possible to find out the “genealogy” of other planets. After all, if similar fossils are found on seemingly lifeless planets, now we will know what to do with them.