الفضاء

10 قصص الأكثر شهرة من اكتشاف خاطئ للحضارات خارج كوكب الأرض

هل نحن وحدنا في الكون؟ يبدو أن مسألة ما إذا كان الشخص سوف يتصل مرة واحدة مع بعض الحضارات الذكية خارج كوكب الأرض نشأت قبل وقت طويل من اكتشاف النظام الأول إلى جانب الطاقة الشمسية ، وكذلك أول كوكب خارج المجموعة الشمسية. تلسكوبات من مشاريع البحوث الدولية أرسلت SETI وعلماء الفلك الهواة لسنوات عديدة إلى أعماق الفضاء ومحاولة العثور على إشارات يمكن أن تكون رسائل الحضارات الغريبة. إن الرغبة في العثور على دليل على وجود حياة ذكية خارج كوكب الأرض متأصلة بعمق في القشرة المخية لعقلنا بحيث أصبحت في كثير من الأحيان سببًا لاستنتاجات وأفكار خاطئة حول ظواهر غير معروفة سابقًا.

تحتوي القصة على العديد من الأمثلة على كيفحتى أن أبرز العلماء أخذوا عن طريق الخطأ الإشارات المستلمة من الفضاء لرسالة الأجانب ، لكن في النهاية فهموا أنهم كانوا شهودًا على ظواهر مختلفة تمامًا ، بدءًا من إشعاع النجوم النابضة وتنتهي ، ولن تصدقوا ، بإشارات من الميكروويف المعطل. في الإنصاف ، تجدر الإشارة إلى أن بعض الإشارات الكهرومغناطيسية المستلمة حتى الآن ليس لديها تفسير علمي مناسب. اليوم سوف نتحدث عن عشرات الحالات والأحداث والظواهر التي أخطأت في الأدلة على وجود حياة خارج كوكب الأرض ، أو لا تزال تفتقر إلى أي تبرير رسمي.

قنوات المريخ

واحدة من أكبر الفلكيةأوهام أواخر القرن التاسع عشر وأوائل القرن العشرين ، قصة وجود قنوات مائية على سطح المريخ. وقد جادل بعض علماء الفلك بأن التفسير الوحيد لوجود هذه القنوات هو أنها خلقت من قبل بعض الكائنات الذكية للري. كتب عالم الفلك الأمريكي بيرسيفال لويل ثلاثة كتب حول هذا الموضوع ، وصف فيها أفكاره وأشاد بـ "النهج الفكري للغاية" لمسألة إنشائها. من الواضح أن الصحافة التقطت بسرعة مثل هذه التصريحات ونشرتها على نطاق واسع في الوعي الجماهيري.

الخلافات حول وجود قنوات على المريخاستمرت حتى بداية القرن العشرين ، حتى ظهرت تكنولوجيات أكثر تطوراً ، مما سمح لإثبات أن فكرة وجود قنوات الري على المريخ ليست سوى وهم. اتضح أن القنوات هي خداع بصري شائع بسبب انخفاض دقة التلسكوبات في ذلك الوقت ، تغذيها الرغبة المستمرة للعقل البشري في توحيد النقاط غير المتصلة في خط ما.

HD 164595 إشارة

نجمة HD 164595 في كوكبة هرقل ، جداعلى غرار شمسنا وتقع حوالي 95 سنة ضوئية ، تصدرت عناوين الأخبار في عام 2016 بعد أن أصبح معروفًا أنه في عام 2015 ، سجل العلماء إشارة راديو قصيرة قوية من اتجاهها. في أغسطس 2016 ، اقترح أن الإشارة قد تكون أرسلتها حضارة أجنبية. ثبت في وقت سابق أن هناك كوكبا خارج المجموعة الشمسية واحد بجانب النجم ، ولكن العلماء يميلون بالفعل إلى الاعتقاد بأن العالم البعيد غير قادر على دعم الحياة. في هذه الموجة ، نشأت فرضية مفادها أنه قد يكون هناك كواكب أخرى بالقرب من HD 164595 لم يتم اكتشافها بعد.

استمرت الإشارة المستلمة ثانيتين فقط وكانتمحددة مرة واحدة فقط. هذا هو السبب في أنه كان من الصعب للغاية تحديد مصدره بدقة. أجرى المشاركون في برنامج البحث عن الحضارة خارج الأرض (SETI) تحقيقهم في محاولة لإثبات الطبيعة المصطنعة المحتملة للمصدر. في استنتاجات الدراسة كان من المفترض أن الإشارة الراديوية التي تسببها بعض الأشياء ذات الأصل الأرضي هي المصدر المحتمل للإشارة. ولهذه النتيجة ، ظهرت حقيقة أن الإشارة قد لوحظت مرة واحدة وفقط مع تلسكوب واحد. لم يستطع العلماء تحديد المصدر الحقيقي ، ولكن على الأرجح كان أحد أقمار الأرض القريبة من الأرض.

كينيث أرنولد

العالم مليء قصص شهود العيان من الأجسام الغريبة ، ولكنأصبحت قصة الطيار ورجل الأعمال كينيث أرنولد واحدة من الحالات الأكثر شهرة التي لفتت انتباه الجمهور إلى وجود أجسام الطيران مجهولة الهوية. في عام 1947 ، صرح أرنولد أنه شهد تسعة من الأجسام الغريبة فوق جبال كاسكيد (واشنطن ، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية). ووفقا له ، فإن الأجسام لها شكل قرص و "طارت مثل الصحن الطائر على الماء". ونتيجة لذلك ، وضعت الصحافة بسرعة في تداول اسم "الصحن الطائر" ("الصحن الطائر").

أدى هذا الحادث إلى الشعبية الهائلة لظاهرة الجسم الغريب في الولايات المتحدة: خلال الشهرين المقبلين ، أعلن ما يقرب من 850 شخصًا من جميع أنحاء البلاد أنهم شاهدوا الصحون الطائرة تحلق في السماء.

أصر المتشككون ، بما في ذلك سلاح الجو الأمريكي ، على ذلكرأى أرنولد سراب عادي. كما تم وضع افتراضات أخرى: صواريخ جديدة ، طائرة جديدة ، انعكاس أشعة الشمس من الثلوج أو الغبار. كثير من الناس ، بمن فيهم أرنولد نفسه ، كانوا غير راضين عن مثل هذه التفسيرات واستمروا في القول بأننا نتحدث عن مركبة فضائية غريبة. في وقت لاحق ، أعلن أرنولد أنه شاهد العديد من "الصحون الطائرة" ، وكتب كتابًا عن تجربته في الملاحظات ، وأصبح فيما بعد أسطورة حقيقية بين أطباء العيون.

التهاب الصفاق

لسنوات عديدة تلسكوب الراديو الأستراليكان مرصد باركس يصطاد إشارات إذاعية قوية غريبة لا يمكن لأحد أن يشرحها. كانت هذه الإشارات تسمى البريتونات تكريما للمخلوق الخيالي بيريتون - شخصية "كتاب المخلوقات الخيالية" خورخي لويس بورخيس.

تردد هذه الإشارات و "عادتها" في الظهورمن المجموعات النجمية ، ذكّروا بسلوك ظاهرة أخرى لم تدرس سوى القليل - رشقات الراديو السريعة (FRB) ، التي اكتشفت بعد سنوات عديدة. بعد أن اكتشف علماء الفلك هذه الإشارات لأول مرة ، بدأوا يتحدثون عن طبيعتها الاصطناعية المحتملة. نفس الشائعات كانت في الأصل تدور حول البريتونات. بعد ذلك بقليل ، توصل العلماء إلى استنتاج مفاده أن البريتونات تتشكل في مكان ما بالقرب من الأرض ، مما أدى إلى تدمير الأسطورة فورًا عن طبيعتها الغريبة ، لكن العلماء لم يتمكنوا من تحديد المصدر الدقيق لهذه الإشارات لسنوات عديدة.

ونتيجة لذلك ، تم الكشف عن الغموض بالكامل في عام 2015وهو العام الذي استخدم فيه علماء الفلك مرة أخرى تلسكوب باركس في أستراليا واكتشفوا سبب ظهور هذه الإشارات. كما اتضح ، الأمر برمته هو ... إشعاع فرن الميكروويف التقليدي ، والذي استخدمه موظفو المرصد لتسخين الطعام. في كل مرة يتم فتح باب المايكرويف قبل ذلك ، تنفجر نبضة راديو ، مثل FRB. أظهرت هذه الحالة أنه حتى أعظم الألغاز لديها أكثر التفسيرات العادية.

إشارات FRB المرسلة بواسطة السفن الغريبة

وفقًا لأحد الافتراضات الموضحةكانت طبيعة البث القوي للغاية ، لكن قصير المدى للإرسال اللاسلكي ، والمعروفة باسم رشقات الراديو السريعة (FRB) ، بطبيعة الحال ، من الأجانب الذين يرسلون لنا رسائل. ومع ذلك ، في عام 2017 ، ذهبت مجموعة من العلماء إلى أبعد من ذلك ، حيث تحدثت بنظرية مختلفة. افترض أفي لوب وماناسوي لينغام من جامعة هارفارد أن الإشارات الراديوية ذات الطبيعة غير المعروفة قد تكون نتيجة ثانوية لعمل سفن الفضاء الغريبة عالية التقنية التي تقفز إلى الفضاء الفائق. انفجارات الراديو هي نفسها مثل العادم للسيارة التي تبدأ من المكان.

لقد ابتكر العلماء نماذج رياضية ،شرحًا لفكرتهم ، ولكن في الآونة الأخيرة ، اكتشفت مجموعة أخرى من الباحثين إشارات FRB المتكررة التي يبدو أنها تأتي من نفس المكان (على الرغم من أن المصدر الدقيق لم يتم تحديده بعد) ، الأمر الذي أدى في حد ذاته إلى تقويض فرضية الأجنبي بشكل خطير. ومن بين التفسيرات الأكثر منطقية لهذه الانفجارات الراديوية السريعة النجوم النيوترونية والثقوب السوداء.

دوائر المحاصيل

دوائر أو أنماط الحقول - geoglyphs في النموذجالحلقات والدوائر والشخصيات الأخرى التي تشكلت في الحقول بمساعدة النباتات المستأنسة. على مدى العقود الأربعة الماضية ، تم اكتشاف عدة آلاف من هذه التكوينات. نظرًا لأن الجزء الأكبر من تقارير هذه الأرقام تشير إلى أنها تظهر غالبًا في الليل ، سرعان ما أصبحت الظاهرة غامضة ، وبطبيعة الحال ، فرضيات مختلفة تشرح مظهرها السببي. بالطبع ، من بين هذه الفرضيات كانت موجودة والأجانب.

لم يدعم العلماء أبدًا فرضية ذلكأن الرسومات في الهوامش هي عمل للأجانب ، لكنها كانت هي التي أثارت اهتمام الجمهور الكبير ، حيث نوقشت هذه الظاهرة بنشاط في وسائل الإعلام المختلفة. في الواقع ، تم إنشاء كل هذه الرسومات من قبل الرجل. بعضها عبارة عن أغراض فنية ، بينما تم إنشاء البعض الآخر كخدعة لإرباك الناس. على الرغم من حقيقة أنه تم دحضها مرارًا وتكرارًا ، فإن فرضية الوافدين الجدد الذين يعتمدون على الحقول لا تزال قائمة في أذهان العديد من الأشخاص.

الأجانب الضخمة بالقرب من نجمة العتابي

مرصد الفضاء "كبلر" ، الانتهاءعملهم في العام الماضي ، كان يبحث عن الكواكب الخارجية الشبيهة بالأرض. في عام 2015 ، قامت مجموعة من علماء الفلك الهواة بتحليل البيانات التي جمعها كيبلر ، عندما لفت أحد النجوم غير العاديين انتباههم. اتضح أن الكائن KIC 8462852 (يُطلق عليه لاحقًا "star Tabbi") لديه مستوى غير عادي جدًا من التغيير في اللمعان. عادة ، بسبب مرور كوكب أمام نجم ، يضيء ضوءه قليلاً لفترة قصيرة ، ويتكرر ذلك على فترات منتظمة. ومع ذلك ، كان النجم KIC 8462852 استثناءًا: فقد انخفض لمعانه بنسبة تصل إلى 22 في المائة ، ولوحظت هذه القطرات لفترات زمنية مختلفة (من 5 إلى 80 يومًا) ، مما أدى إلى ظهور عدد كبير من الفرضيات.

ربما خمنت بالفعل أنه في واحدة من هذهتحدثت الفرضيات عن الأجانب. وبشكل أكثر تحديدًا ، كان الأمر يتعلق بحضارة أجنبية معينة متطورة للغاية حول النجم تخلق هيكلاً للهندسة الفلكية مثل كرة دايسون أو أداة تجميع الضوء. نظرًا لعدم اكتمال المبنى ، يمكن أن يكون نصف الكرة ، والذي يغلق النجم من وقت لآخر ، مما يقلل من سطوعه بالنسبة لنا.

أصبح ستار تابي كائنًا كبيرًا جدًا.الاهتمام من SETI (برنامج للبحث عن حضارات خارج كوكب الأرض) ، ومع ذلك ، تشير نتائج الدراسة الأخيرة إلى أن الانخفاض في سطوع النجوم يكون على الأرجح بسبب سحابة كبيرة للغاية من الغبار ، وليس من نصف الكرة الأرضية الذي تم إنشاؤه بواسطة بعض الحضارات الفائقة المعقولة أو من قبل الطبيعة من قبل.

روزويل

حادثة روزويل هي على الأرجح الأكثرالشهيرة في تاريخ "حكاية الأجسام الغريبة". كان على الجيش والسياسيين الأمريكيين التعليق على ما حدث عدة مرات ودحض تكهنات الناس حتى بعد عقود قليلة من الحدث.

في صيف عام 1947 ، بالقرب من مزرعة في نيو مكسيكو سقطتالتحقيق في الطقس السري سلاح الجو الأمريكي. اكتشف المزارع المحلي ويليام برازيل حطامه. نظرًا لأن بريزل سمع من قبل قصصًا عن "الصحون الطائرة" ، فقد قرر أن يجد اكتشافه للقائد المحلي ، وأبلغه أنه ربما وجد أحدهم. اتصل شريف بقاعدة عسكرية قريبة. في محاولة لتجنب الشائعات ، أدلى الجيش ببيان رسمي. اجتذب الحدث الكثير من الاهتمام حتى تم الإعلان عن الموقع الرسمي للقوات الجوية الأمريكية ، والذي ذكر أن الجسم المكتشف كان من أصل أرضي.

في البداية تم نسيان الحادث بسرعةوظل علماء العيون مجهولين لمدة 30 عامًا. ولكن في أواخر سبعينيات القرن العشرين ، ظهر الاهتمام من جديد حوله عندما قابل أخصائيو طب العيون الشاهد المزعوم لتلك الأحداث وكانوا قادرين على التعرف على الوثائق السرية. وفقا للقصة الجديدة ، كان الجسم الساقط مركبة فضائية ، توفي طاقمها نتيجة للحادث. وزُعم أن الجثث نُقلت إلى قاعدة عسكرية سرية ، وتم إجراء تشريح للجثة ، وفرضت الحكومة الأمريكية سرية تامة على هذه القضية.

يبدو لا يصدق ، ولكن في عام 2013في دراسة أمريكية ، أشار 1/5 من المجيبين إلى أنهم ما زالوا يعتقدون أن الأحداث التي وقعت في روزويل عام 1947 كانت مرتبطة بطريقة ما بانهيار الأجسام الغريبة والأجانب.

إشارة "الرجال الأخضر الصغير"

في عام 1967 ، الباحث جوسلين بيل ولهااكتشف رئيس أنتوني هيويش من مرصد مالارد لعلم الفلك (المملكة المتحدة) إشارة إذاعية غريبة للغاية. كان متسقًا وسريعًا لدرجة أنه بدا مصطنعًا ، ولكن في الوقت نفسه ، كان مكتشفًا بشكل واضح. أطلق عليها بيل وهويش اسم LGM-1 (من "الرجال الصغار الأخضر" أو "الرجال الصغار الأخضر").

النسخة التي وردت الإشارة من آخرلم تكن الحضارة هي الأساس ، ولكن كان على العلماء أن يأخذوا هذا الخيار في الاعتبار ، وكذلك التفكير فيما يجب أن يخبرهم به إذا تم تأكيد هذا الافتراض بالفعل. عندما تلقى الباحثون الإشارة الثانية المشابهة ، اختفت نسخة الأجانب على الفور ، لأن احتمال قيام حضارتين غريبتين بالتحدث معنا في وقت واحد بدا مستبعدًا للغاية.

اتضح لاحقا أن جوسلين بيل ولهالأول مرة في التاريخ ، اكتشف القائد أنتوني هيويش النجم النابض - نجم نيوتروني سريع الدوران مع مجال مغناطيسي قوي للغاية ، ينبعث من نبضات الراديو. تنبعث هذه النبضات نحو الأرض على فترات منتظمة ، مما يجعلها تبدو للوهلة الأولى وكأنها انتقال مصطنع لرسائل الراديو. على الرغم من حقيقة أن العلماء لم يعثروا على الأجانب ، إلا أن اكتشاف النجوم النابضة الراديوية كان مفيدًا جدًا للفلكيين.

واو!

في عام 1977 ، عالم الفلك من برنامج SETI جيري إيمانتحليل البيانات من الملاحظات في اليوم السابق باستخدام تلسكوب الراديو Big Ear في جامعة ولاية أوهايو. لفت العالم الانتباه إلى حقيقة أن بيانات التلسكوب تحتوي على معلومات حول إشارة 72 ثانية قوية إلى حد ما. أكثر ما فاجأ عالم الفلك كان ميزات الإشارة.
خصائصه (نطاق الإرسال ، النسبةإشارة / ضوضاء) تقابل ، في بعض التفسيرات ، من الناحية النظرية المتوقعة من إشارة من خارج الأرض. مندهشًا من هذه الحقيقة ، حلقت إيمان بمجموعة الإشارات المقابلة من الأحرف على المطبوعة ووقعت على "Wow!" ("Wow!") على الجانب. أعطى هذا التوقيع اسم الإشارة.

في الشهر التالي ، حاول أيمن مرة أخرىتسجيل الإشارة مع الأذن الكبيرة ، ولكن دون جدوى. قام علماء آخرون بمحاولات أخرى للكشف عن نفس الإشارة. لكنهم جميعا كانوا غير ناجحين. كان العلماء لا يزالون قادرين على تحديد الموقع التقريبي لمصدر الإشارة (في مكان ما في كوكبة القوس) ، لكن لم يكن من الممكن تحديد طبيعتها الدقيقة ، والتي لا تزال لا تستبعد إمكانية أصلها الاصطناعي.

مثل هذا المقال؟ اشترك في قناة Telegram الخاصة بنا حتى لا تفوت جميع الأشياء الأكثر إثارة للاهتمام من عالم العلوم والتكنولوجيا.

Space

10 most famous stories of erroneous discovery of extraterrestrial civilizations

Are we alone in the universe? It seems that the question of whether a person will once make contact with some intelligent extraterrestrial civilizations arose long before the first system besides the Solar was discovered, as well as the first exoplanet. Telescopes of international research projects SETI and amateur astronomers for many years sent to the very depths of space and trying to find signals that could be the messages of alien civilizations. The desire to find evidence of the existence of intelligent extraterrestrial life is so deeply entrenched in the subcortex of our brain that it often became the cause of erroneous conclusions and notions about previously unknown phenomena seen.

The story contains many examples of howeven the most prominent scientists mistakenly took the received signals from space for the message of aliens, but in the end they came to understand that they were witnesses of completely different phenomena, starting from the radiation of pulsars and ending, you will not believe, with signals from a malfunctioning microwave. For the sake of justice, it is worth noting that some of the received electromagnetic signals still do not have a proper scientific explanation. Today we will talk about a dozen cases, events and phenomena that were mistaken for evidence of the existence of extraterrestrial life, or still have no official justification.

Martian Channels

One of the biggest astronomicaldelusions of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, the story of the existence of water channels on the surface of Mars. Some astronomers have argued that the only explanation for the presence of these channels is that they were created by some intelligent beings for irrigation. American astronomer Percival Lowell even wrote three books on this subject, in which he described his thoughts and praised the "very intellectual approach" to the question of their creation. It is clear that the press quickly picked up such statements and widely spread them in the mass consciousness.

Disputes on the existence of channels on Marscontinued until the beginning of the 20th century, until more advanced technologies appeared, which allowed to prove that the very idea of ​​the presence of irrigation channels on Mars is nothing more than a delusion. It turned out that the channels are a common optical illusion due to the low resolution of telescopes of the time, fueled by the constant desire of the human brain to unite points not connected in a line.

HD 164595 signal

Star HD 164595 in the constellation Hercules, verysimilar to our Sun and located about 95 light-years, hit the news headlines in 2016 after it became known that in 2015, scientists had registered a strong short radio signal from its direction. In August 2016, it was suggested that the signal could have been sent by an alien civilization. Earlier, it was found that there is one exoplanet next to the star, but scientists already tended to believe that the distant world is not capable of supporting life. On this wave, a hypothesis arose that there may be other planets near HD 164595 that have not yet been discovered.

The received signal lasted only two seconds and wasdefined only once. That is why it was a rather difficult task to establish its exact source. Participants in the extraterrestrial civilization search program (SETI) conducted their investigation in an attempt to establish the possible artificial nature of the source. In the conclusions of the study it was assumed that the radio signal caused by some object of terrestrial origin was the probable source of the signal. To this conclusion, the fact that the signal was observed only once and only with a single telescope came across. Scientists could not establish the true source, but most likely it was one of the near-Earth satellites.

Kenneth Arnold

The world is full of eyewitness stories of UFOs, howeverThe story of the aviator and businessman Kenneth Arnold became one of the most famous cases that drew public attention to the existence of unidentified flying objects. In 1947, Arnold claimed to witness nine UFOs over the Cascade Mountains (Washington, USA). According to his words, the objects had a disk shape and “flew like a saucer flying on water”. As a result, the press quickly put into circulation the name "flying saucer" ("flying saucer").

The incident led to the immense popularity of the UFO phenomenon in the United States: over the next two months, almost 850 people from all over the country declared that they saw flying saucers in the sky.

Skeptics, including the United States Air Force, insisted thatArnold saw an ordinary mirage. Other assumptions were also made: new missiles, new aircraft, the reflection of sunlight from snow or dust. Many people, including Arnold himself, were dissatisfied with such explanations and continued to argue that we are talking about alien spacecraft. Later, Arnold declared that he had seen several more “flying saucers” and even wrote a book about his experience of observations, later becoming a real legend among ufologists.

Peritones

For many years the Australian radio telescopeParkes Observatory was catching strange powerful radio signals that no one could explain. These signals were called peritones in honor of the fictional creature Periton - the character of the “Book of fictional creatures” Jorge Luis Borges.

The frequency of these signals and their "habit" to appearfrom star clusters, they reminded the behavior of another little-studied phenomenon — fast radio bursts (FRB), discovered many years later. After astronomers first discovered these signals, they began to talk about their possible artificial nature. The same rumors originally went about peritones. A little later, scientists came to the conclusion that peritons form somewhere near the Earth, which immediately destroyed the myth of their alien nature, but scientists could not determine the exact source of these signals for many years.

As a result, the mystery was fully disclosed in 2015year when astronomers once again used the Parkes telescope in Australia and discovered the reason for the appearance of these signals. As it turned out, the whole thing is ... radiation of a conventional microwave oven, which was used by the staff of the observatory to heat food. Each time the microwave door opened ahead of time, a radio pulse, like FRB, burst from it. This case showed that even the greatest riddles have the most ordinary explanations.

FRB signals sent by alien spaceships

According to one of the assumptions explainingThe nature of very powerful, but short-term emissions of radio emission, known as fast radio bursts (FRB), of course, were aliens sending us messages. However, in 2017 one group of scientists went even further, speaking with a different theory. Avi Loeb and Manaswi Lingam from Harvard University hypothesized that radio signals of unknown nature may be a by-product of the work of high-tech alien spaceships jumping into hyperspace. And the radio bursts themselves are like the exhaust of a car starting from the spot.

Scientists have even created mathematical models,explaining their idea, but more recently another group of researchers discovered repeated FRB signals that seem to come from the same place (although the exact source has not yet been determined), which in itself has seriously undermined the alien hypothesis. Among the more plausible explanations of these fast radio bursts are neutron stars and black holes.

Crop Circles

Circles or field patterns - geoglyphs in the formrings, circles and other shapes, formed in the fields with laid plants. Over the past four decades, several thousand of these formations have been discovered. Since the bulk of the reports of these figures indicated that they appear mainly at night, the phenomenon quickly became mysterious and, of course, various hypotheses explaining their causal appearance. Of course, among these hypotheses were aliens.

Scientists have never supported the hypothesis thatthat drawings in the margins are the work of aliens, but it was she who aroused great public interest, since the phenomenon was rather actively discussed in all sorts of media. In fact, all these drawings were created by man. Some are art objects, others have been created as a hoax to confuse people. Even in spite of the fact that it has already been repeatedly refuted, the hypothesis about newcomers drawing on the fields still lives in the minds of many people.

Aliens megastructure near Tabby star

Space Observatory "Kepler", completedtheir work last year, was looking for earth-like exoplanets. In 2015, a group of amateur astronomers analyzed the data collected by Kepler, when one very unusual star caught their attention. It turned out that the object KIC 8462852 (later called the "star Tabbi") has a very unusual level of change in luminosity. Usually due to the passage of a planet in front of a star, its light dims slightly for a short time, which is repeated at regular intervals. However, the star KIC 8462852 was an exception: its luminosity dropped by up to 22 percent, and such drops were observed for various periods of time (from 5 to 80 days), which led to the appearance of a large number of hypotheses.

You probably already guessed that in one of thesehypotheses talked about aliens. More specifically, it was about a certain highly developed alien civilization around the star creating an astro-engineering structure such as a Dyson sphere or a light collector. Since the building is not completed, it can be a hemisphere, which from time to time closes the star, reducing its brightness for us.

Star Tabby has become an object of very largeinterest from SETI (a program to search for extraterrestrial civilizations), but the results of their latest study suggest that the reduction in star brightness is most likely caused by a very large cloud of dust, and not by a hemisphere supposedly created by some kind of intelligent supercivilization or natural by.

Roswell

The Roswell incident is probably the mostfamous in the history of "fairy tale about UFOs." The US military and politicians have had to comment on what happened many times and refute people's speculations even a few decades after the event.

In the summer of 1947, near the ranch in New Mexico fellsecret weather probe US Air Force. The local farmer, William Brazel, discovered his wreckage. Since Breyzel had previously heard stories about “flying saucers,” he decided to tell his find to the local sheriff, informing him that he might have found one of them. The sheriff contacted a nearby military base. Trying to avoid rumors, the military made an official statement. The event attracted a lot of attention until the official position of the US Air Force was announced, which stated that the detected object was of earthly origin.

Initially the incident was quickly forgotten evenufologists and remained unknown for 30 years. But in the late '70s, an interest arose around him again when ufologists interviewed the alleged witness of those events and were able to familiarize themselves with secret documents. According to the new story, the fallen object was a spacecraft, whose crew died as a result of the accident. The bodies were allegedly transported to a secret military base, an autopsy was performed, and the US government imposed a complete secrecy on this case.

Sounds unbelievable, but in 2013in the USA, one-fifth of respondents said that they still believe that the events in Rosewell in 1947 were somehow related to the collapse of UFOs and aliens.

Signal "little green men"

In 1967, researcher Jocelyn Bell and herHead Anthony Hewish of the Mallard Radio Astronomy Observatory (UK) discovered a very curious radio signal. It was so consistent and fast that it seemed artificial, but at the same time, clearly unearthly. Bell and Hewish called it the LGM-1 (from "Little Green Men" or "little green men").

The version that the signal was received from anothercivilization was not the main, but scientists had to take into account this option, as well as think about what to tell people if this assumption is really confirmed. When the researchers received the second similar signal, the version of aliens immediately disappeared, because the likelihood that two alien civilizations decided to talk with us at once seemed to them extremely unlikely.

It turned out later that Jocelyn Bell and herfor the first time in history, the leader Anthony Hewish discovered a radio pulsar - a rapidly rotating neutron star with a very powerful magnetic field, emitting radio pulses. At regular intervals, these impulses are thrown towards the Earth, which makes them at first glance look like an artificial transmission of radio messages. Despite the fact that the scientists did not find the aliens, the discovery of radio pulsars turned out to be very useful for astronomers.

Wow! Signal

In 1977, the astronomer of the SETI program Jerry Eymanconducted an analysis of data obtained during the previous day's observations using the Big Ear radio telescope at Ohio State University. The scientist drew attention to the fact that the data of the telescope contains information about the 72-second rather powerful signal. What surprised the astronomer most was the signal features.
Its characteristics (transmission band, ratiosignal / noise) corresponded, in some interpretations, theoretically expected from a signal of extraterrestrial origin. Amazed by this fact, Eyman circled the corresponding group of characters on the printout and signed “Wow!” (“Wow!”) On the side. This signature gave the name of the signal.

The following month, Ayman tried againregister the signal using the "Big Ear", but to no avail. Further attempts to detect the same signal were undertaken by other scientists. But all of them were also unsuccessful. Scientists still were able to determine the approximate location of the signal source (somewhere in the constellation Sagittarius), but it was not possible to determine its exact nature, which still does not exclude the possibility of its artificial origin.

Like this article? Subscribe to our Telegram channel in order not to miss all the most interesting things from the world of science and technology.