بحث

أكبر 10 أشياء في الكون

بفضل التطور السريع للتكنولوجيا ، وعلماء الفلكجعل المزيد والمزيد من الاكتشافات المثيرة للاهتمام ولا يصدق في الكون. على سبيل المثال ، ينتقل عنوان "أكبر كائن في الكون" من اكتشاف إلى آخر كل عام تقريبًا. بعض الأجسام المفتوحة ضخمة جدًا لدرجة أنها تخلط بين أفضل العلماء في كوكبنا مع حقيقة وجودها. دعنا نتحدث عن أكبر عشرة.

Supervoyd

في الآونة الأخيرة نسبيا ، اكتشف العلماء أكثربقعة باردة كبيرة في الكون. وهي تقع في الجزء الجنوبي من كوكبة Eridanus. بطول 1.8 مليار سنة ضوئية ، فإن هذا المكان قد حير العلماء. لم يشكوا في وجود أشياء من هذا الحجم.

على الرغم من وجود كلمة "تسجيل الدخول" في العنوان (معاللغة الإنجليزية "باطلة" تعني "الفراغ") المساحة هنا ليست خالية تمامًا. في هذه المنطقة من الفضاء ، هناك مجموعات من المجرات أقل بنسبة 30 في المائة من المساحة المحيطة بها. وفقا للعلماء ، تشكل الفراغات 50 في المائة من حجم الكون ، وهذه النسبة ، في رأيهم ، سوف تستمر في النمو بسبب الجاذبية الفائقة ، والتي تجتذب جميع المواد المحيطة بها.

Superblob

في عام 2006 ، عنوان أكبر كائن فيتلقى الكون "فقاعة" غامضة غامضة (أو فقاعة ، كما يسميها العلماء عادة). صحيح ، هذا اللقب احتفظ به لفترة طويلة. هذه الفقاعة التي تبلغ 200 مليون سنة ضوئية هي مجموعة ضخمة من الغاز والغبار والمجرات. مع بعض التحفظات ، هذا الكائن يشبه قناديل البحر الخضراء العملاقة. اكتشف علماء الفلك اليابانيون الجسم عندما درسوا إحدى مناطق الفضاء المعروفة بوجود كمية هائلة من الغاز الكوني.

يحتوي كل من "مخالب" الثلاثة من هذه الفقاعةالمجرات ، التي تقع فيما بينها ، هي أكثر كثافة أربع مرات من المعتاد في الكون. تسمى مجموعة المجرات وكرات الغاز داخل هذه الفقاعة فقاعات ليمان ألفا. ويعتقد أن هذه الأشياء بدأت تظهر بعد حوالي 2 مليار سنة من الانفجار الكبير وهي بقايا حقيقية للكون القديم. يقترح العلماء أن الفقاعة المعنية تشكلت عندما أصبحت النجوم الضخمة التي كانت موجودة في الأيام الأولى من الفضاء مستعرات أعظمية فجأة وألقت كميات هائلة من الغاز في الفضاء. الجسم ضخم للغاية لدرجة أن العلماء يعتقدون أنه ، إلى حد كبير ، هو واحد من أول الأجسام الفضائية التي تشكلت في الكون. وفقا للنظريات ، بمرور الوقت ، سوف تتشكل المزيد والمزيد من المجرات الجديدة من الغاز المتراكم هنا.

شاولي سوبر كلاستر

لسنوات عديدة ، يعتقد العلماء أن مجرتنادرب التبانة بسرعة 2.2 مليون كيلومتر في الساعة تنجذب عبر الكون في مكان ما في اتجاه كوكبة القنطور. يقترح الفلكيون أن السبب في ذلك هو الجاذبية العظمى (الجاذبية العظمى) ، وهو كائن له قوة الجاذبية هذه ، وهو ما يكفي لجذب مجرات كاملة لنفسه. صحيح ، لمعرفة نوع الكائن ، لم يستطع العلماء لفترة طويلة. من المفترض أن هذا الكائن يقع خلف ما يسمى "منطقة التجنب" (ZOA) ، وهي منطقة في السماء مغطاة بمجرة درب التبانة.

ومع ذلك ، مع مرور الوقت ، جاءت الأشعة السينية للإنقاذعلم الفلك. سمح تطورها للنظر وراء منطقة ZOA ومعرفة ما هو بالضبط سبب هذا الجذب الجاذبية قوية. صحيح أن ما رآه العلماء وضعهم في طريق مسدود أكبر. اتضح أنه خلف منطقة ZOA هناك مجموعة من المجرات المعتادة. لم ترتبط أبعاد هذه المجموعة بقوة الجذب الجاذبي الذي تمارسه على مجرتنا. ولكن بمجرد أن قرر العلماء النظر في عمق الأرض ، اكتشفوا قريبًا أن مجرتنا تنجذب نحو جسم أكبر. اتضح أن هذا هو مجموعة شبلي الفائقة - أكثر المجموعات الفائقة هائلة من المجرات في الكون الذي يمكن ملاحظته.

يتكون Supercluster من أكثر من 8000 مجرة. كتلته حوالي 10،000 أكثر من كتلة درب التبانة.

سور الصين العظيم CfA2

مثل معظم الكائنات في هذه القائمة ، العظمىكان الجدار (المعروف أيضًا باسم السور العظيم لـ CfA2) يتمتع أيضًا مرة واحدة بلقب أكبر جسم فضائي معروف في الكون. اكتشفها عالم الفيزياء الفلكية الأمريكي مارغريت جوان جيلر وجون بيتر هونروي أثناء دراسة تأثير الانزياح الأحمر لمركز هارفارد سميثسونيان للفيزياء الفلكية. وفقًا للعلماء ، يبلغ طوله 500 مليون سنة ضوئية ، والعرض 300 مليون ، والسمك 15 مليون سنة ضوئية.

الأبعاد الدقيقة للسور العظيم ما زالت قائمةلا يزال لغزا للعلماء. يمكن أن يكون أكثر بكثير مما يعتقد ، ويبلغ طوله 750 مليون سنة ضوئية. تكمن مشكلة تحديد الأبعاد الدقيقة في موقع هذا الهيكل العملاق. كما هو الحال في مجموعة شبلي الفائقة ، فإن سور الصين العظيم مغطى جزئيًا بـ "منطقة التجنب".

بشكل عام ، لا تسمح "منطقة التجنب" هذهرؤية حوالي 20 في المئة من الكون المرصودة (قابلة للوصول لتلسكوبات اليوم). وهي تقع داخل درب التبانة وهي عبارة عن تراكم كثيف للغاز والغبار (وكذلك تركيز عالٍ من النجوم) ، مما يشوه المشاهدات إلى حد كبير. من أجل الاطلاع على "منطقة التجنب" ، يتعين على علماء الفلك استخدام ، على سبيل المثال ، التلسكوبات التي تعمل بالأشعة تحت الحمراء ، والتي تسمح لهم باختراق 10 في المائة أخرى من "منطقة التجنب". من خلال ما لا تستطيع موجات الأشعة تحت الحمراء اختراقه ، تتعطل موجات الراديو ، بالإضافة إلى طيف الأشعة تحت الحمراء القريب والأشعة السينية. ومع ذلك ، فإن الغياب الفعلي للفرصة للنظر في مثل هذه المساحة الكبيرة من الفضاء أمر محبط بعض الشيء للعلماء. قد تحتوي "منطقة التجنب" على معلومات يمكن أن تملأ الفجوات في معرفتنا بالفضاء.

Laniakea الفائقة

عادة ما يتم تجميع المجرات معًا. وتسمى هذه المجموعات مجموعات. تسمى مناطق الفضاء ، حيث تقع هذه المجموعات أكثر كثافة فيما بينها ، باسم المجموعات الفائقة. في وقت سابق ، قام الفلكيون برسم خرائط لهذه الكائنات من خلال تحديد موقعهم الفعلي في الكون ، ولكن تم اختراع طريقة جديدة في الآونة الأخيرة لرسم خريطة للفضاء المحلي. هذا سمح لنا بإلقاء الضوء على المعلومات التي لم تكن متوفرة من قبل.

مبدأ رسم الخرائط المحلية الجديدلا تعتمد المساحة والمجرات على حساب موقع الأجسام ، ولكن على ملاحظات مؤشرات التأثير الجاذبية التي تمارسها الأجسام. بفضل طريقة جديدة ، يتم تحديد موقع المجرات وعلى أساس هذا ، يتم رسم خريطة لتوزيع الجاذبية في الكون. مقارنة بالطريقة القديمة ، تكون الطريقة الجديدة أكثر تقدماً ، لأنها تسمح للفلكيين ليس فقط بتحديد كائنات جديدة في الكون المرئي ، ولكن أيضًا للعثور على كائنات جديدة في أماكن لم يكن من الممكن البحث فيها.

النتائج الأولى من دراسة الكتلة المحليةالمجرات التي تستخدم الطريقة الجديدة كشفت عن طبقة جديدة. تكمن أهمية هذه الدراسة في حقيقة أنها ستسمح لنا أن نفهم مكاننا في الكون بشكل أفضل. كان يعتقد سابقًا أن درب التبانة موجود داخل مجموعة برج العذراء الفائقة ، لكن طريقة البحث الجديدة تُظهر أن هذه المنطقة ليست سوى جزء من لانياكيا ، وهي واحدة من أكبر الكائنات في الكون. يمتد أكثر من 520 مليون سنة ضوئية ، ونحن في مكان ما داخلها.

سور الصين العظيم سلون

لأول مرة ، تم اكتشاف سور سلون العظيم2003 كجزء من مشروع Sloan Digital Sky Survey - وهو عبارة عن خريطة علمية لمئات الملايين من المجرات ، للتعرف على أكبر الكائنات في الكون. The Great Wall of Sloan هو عبارة عن خيوط مجرة ​​عملاقة تتكون من عدة طبقات عملاقة. إنها مثل مخالب الأخطبوط العملاق الموزعة في جميع اتجاهات الكون. نظرًا لطولها البالغ 1.4 مليار سنة ضوئية ، كان "الجدار" يُعتبر في يوم من الأيام أكبر كائن في الكون.

سور الصين العظيم سلون نفسه ليست كما درسالفائق الذي بداخله. بعض هذه superclusters مثيرة للاهتمام في حد ذاتها وتستحق إشارة خاصة. إحداها ، على سبيل المثال ، لديها مجموعة من المجرات ، والتي تبدو معًا وكأنها هوائيات عملاقة. داخل طبقة خارقة أخرى ، هناك تفاعل ثقالي كبير بين المجرات - كثير منها يمر الآن بفترة من التقاء.

وجود "الجدار" وأي دولة أخرى أكبرالكائنات تخلق أسئلة جديدة حول أسرار الكون. وجودهم يتناقض مع المبدأ الكوني ، الذي يحد من الناحية النظرية كيف يمكن أن تكون الأجسام الكبيرة في الكون. وفقًا لهذا المبدأ ، لا تسمح قوانين الكون بوجود كائنات تزيد عن 1.2 مليار سنة ضوئية. ومع ذلك ، فإن أشياء مثل سور الصين العظيم سلون تتناقض تماما مع هذا الرأي.

مجموعة كوازار Huge-LQG7

الكوازارات عالية الطاقةالأجسام الفلكية الموجودة في وسط المجرات. يُعتقد أن مركز الكوازارات عبارة عن ثقوب سوداء هائلة ، تجذب المادة المحيطة. وهذا يؤدي إلى انبعاث ضخم للإشعاع ، الطاقة التي تزيد 1000 مرة عن الطاقة التي تنتجها جميع النجوم داخل المجرة. في الوقت الحالي ، في المرتبة الثالثة بين أكبر الأجسام الهيكلية في الكون ، مجموعة الكوازرات Huge-LQG ، التي تتألف من 73 كوازار مبعثرة على 4 مليارات سنة ضوئية. يعتقد العلماء أن مثل هذه المجموعة الضخمة من الكوازارات ، وكذلك تلك المشابهة ، هي أحد أسباب ظهور أكبر هيكلية في الكون ، على سبيل المثال ، سور الصين العظيم سلون.

تم اكتشاف مجموعة من الكوازارات Huge-LQG بعدتحليل نفس البيانات التي اكتشف فيها سور الصين العظيم سلون. لقد حدد العلماء وجودها بعد تعيين إحدى مناطق الفضاء باستخدام خوارزمية خاصة تقيس كثافة موقع الكوازارات في منطقة معينة.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن وجود Huge-LQGلا يزال عرضة للجدل. يعتقد بعض العلماء أن هذه المنطقة من الفضاء تمثل حقًا مجموعة واحدة من الكوازارات ، والعلماء الآخرون واثقون من أن الكوازارات الموجودة في هذه المساحة من الفضاء تقع بشكل عشوائي وليست جزءًا من نفس المجموعة.

حلقة جاما العملاقة

تمتد 5 مليارات سنة ضوئيةتعتبر حلقة جاما العملاقة (Giant GRB Ring) ثاني أكبر كائن في الكون. بالإضافة إلى الحجم المذهل ، يجذب هذا الكائن الانتباه نظرًا لشكله غير العادي. عثر علماء الفلك ، الذين يدرسون رشقات أشعة جاما (انبعاثات الطاقة الضخمة ، التي تتشكل نتيجة لوفاة النجوم الضخمة) ، على سلسلة من تسعة رشقات ، كانت مصادرها على مسافة واحدة من الأرض. شكلت هذه الانفجارات حلقة في السماء ، 70 مرة قطر البدر. بالنظر إلى أن رشقات أشعة جاما بحد ذاتها هي ظاهرة نادرة ، فإن فرصة تشكيلها بشكل مشابه في السماء هي من 1 إلى 20.000. وهذا ما سمح للعلماء بافتراض أنهم شهود على واحدة من أكبر الكائنات الهيكلية في الكون. .

"الحلقة" بحد ذاتها هي مجرد مصطلحوصف التمثيل المرئي لهذه الظاهرة عند النظر إليها من الأرض. وفقًا لأحد الافتراضات ، قد تكون حلقة جاما العملاقة بمثابة إسقاط لنوع من المجال تحدث حوله جميع انبعاثات أشعة جاما في فترة زمنية قصيرة نسبيًا تبلغ حوالي 250 مليون عام. صحيح أن السؤال هنا هو ما الذي يمكن للمصدر أن يخلقه لمثل هذه الكرة. أحد التفسيرات يتعلق بافتراض أن المجرات يمكن أن تتجمع في مجموعات حول تركيز ضخم من المادة المظلمة. ومع ذلك ، هذه ليست سوى نظرية. لا يزال العلماء لا يعرفون كيف تتشكل هذه الهياكل.

سور الصين العظيم هرقل - التاج الشمالي

أكبر كائن هيكلي في الكوناكتشف أيضا من قبل علماء الفلك في إطار رصد إشعاع جاما. يمتد هذا الكائن ، المسمى Great Wall of Hercules - Northern Crown ، إلى 10 مليارات سنة ضوئية ، مما يجعله ضعف حجم حلقة جاما المجرة العملاقة. ونظرًا لأن أشعة الانفجارات الإشعاعية لأشعة غاما تنتج نجومًا أكبر ، وعادةً ما تقع في مناطق الفضاء التي يوجد فيها المزيد من المادة ، فإن علماء الفلك في كل مرة ينظرون مجازًا إلى كل انفجار من هذا القبيل باعتباره إبرة موجهة إلى شيء أكبر. عندما اكتشف العلماء أن انفجارات أشعة غاما تحدث في كثير من الأحيان في مجال الفضاء في اتجاه كوكبات هرقل والتاج الشمالي ، قرروا أن هناك جسم فلكي ، وهو على الأرجح تركيز كثيف للمجموعات المجرة وغيرها من المواد.

حقيقة مثيرة للاهتمام: صاغ اسم "Great Wall Hercules - Northern Crown" من قبل المراهق الفلبيني الذي كتبه في ويكيبيديا (أي شخص يريده يمكنه تحرير هذه الموسوعة الإلكترونية). بعد فترة وجيزة من أنباء أن علماء الفلك اكتشفوا بنية ضخمة في السماء الكونية ، ظهر المقال المقابل على صفحات ويكيبيديا. على الرغم من أن الاسم الذي تم اختراعه لا يصف هذا الكائن بدقة (يغطي الجدار العديد من الأبراج في وقت واحد وليس اثنين فقط) ، سرعان ما اعتاد الإنترنت العالمي على ذلك. ربما هذه هي المرة الأولى التي تعطي فيها "ويكيبيديا" اسم الكائن المكتشف والمثير للاهتمام من وجهة نظر علمية.

نظرًا لأن وجود هذا "الجدار" يتناقض أيضًا مع المبدأ الكوني ، فيتعين على العلماء مراجعة بعض نظرياتهم حول كيفية تكوين الكون فعليًا.

شبكة الفضاء

يعتقد العلماء أن توسع الكونلا يحدث بشكل عشوائي. هناك نظريات تقضي بأن جميع مجرات الكون منظمة في هيكل واحد بحجم لا يصدق ، تشبه المفاصل الخيطية ، توحد المناطق الكثيفة فيما بينها. هذه المواضيع منتشرة بين فراغات أقل كثافة. يسمي العلماء هذا الهيكل على الويب الكوني.

وفقا للعلماء ، تم تشكيل شبكة الإنترنت على جداالمراحل المبكرة من تاريخ الكون. في البداية ، كان تكوين الويب غير مستقر وغير متجانس ، مما ساعد في وقت لاحق على تشكيل كل ما هو موجود الآن في الكون. يُعتقد أن "خيوط" هذا الويب لعبت دورًا كبيرًا في تطور الكون - لقد عجلوا به. تجدر الإشارة إلى أن المجرات الموجودة داخل هذه الشعيرات لها تكوين نجمة أعلى بكثير. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، هذه الشعيرات هي نوع من جسر للتفاعل الجاذبية بين المجرات. بعد تشكيلها داخل هذه الشعيرات ، يتم إرسال المجرات إلى مجموعات المجرات ، حيث تموت في النهاية.

في الآونة الأخيرة فقط بدأ العلماء في فهم ماحقا هذه الشبكة الكونية. عند دراسة أحد الكوازارات البعيدة ، لاحظ الباحثون أن إشعاعاتهم تؤثر على أحد فروع الشبكة الكونية. يتجه ضوء الكوازار مباشرة إلى أحد فروعه ، مما أدى إلى تسخين الغازات فيه وجعلها تتوهج. بناءً على هذه الملاحظات ، تمكن العلماء من تخيل توزيع الخيوط بين المجرات الأخرى ، مما خلق صورة لـ "الهيكل العظمي للفضاء".

Research

10 largest objects in the universe

Thanks to the rapid development of technology, astronomersmake more and more interesting and incredible discoveries in the universe. For example, the title of “the largest object in the Universe” moves from one find to another almost every year. Some open objects are so huge that they confuse even the best scientists of our planet with the fact of their existence. Let's talk about the ten largest ones.

Superway

Relatively recently, scientists have discovered the mosta big cold spot in the universe. It is located in the southern part of the constellation Eridanus. With its length of 1.8 billion light years, this spot has puzzled scientists. They did not suspect that objects of this size may exist.

Despite the presence of the word "login" in the title (withEnglish "void" means "emptiness") the space here is not entirely empty. In this region of space, there are about 30 percent less clusters of galaxies than in the surrounding space. According to scientists, voids make up 50 percent of the volume of the Universe, and this percentage, in their opinion, will continue to grow due to superstrong gravity, which attracts all their surrounding matter.

Superblob

In 2006, the title of the largest object inThe universe received a mysterious cosmic "bubble" (or blob, as scientists usually call them). True, this title he retained for long. This bubble of 200 million light years is a giant cluster of gas, dust and galaxies. With some reservations, this object looks like a giant green jellyfish. The object was discovered by Japanese astronomers when they studied one of the regions of space known for having a huge amount of cosmic gas.

Each of the three "tentacles" of this bubble containsgalaxies, which are located among themselves are four times denser than usual in the universe. The cluster of galaxies and gas balls inside this bubble are called Lyman Alpha bubbles. It is believed that these objects began to appear approximately 2 billion years after the Big Bang and are true relics of the ancient Universe. Scientists suggest that the bubble in question was formed when massive stars that existed in early space times suddenly became supernovae and threw huge volumes of gas into space. The object is so massive that scientists believe that, by and large, it is one of the first space objects formed in the Universe. According to theories, over time, more and more new galaxies will form from the gas accumulated here.

Shawley Supercluster

For many years, scientists believe that our galaxyThe Milky Way at a speed of 2.2 million kilometers per hour is attracted through the Universe somewhere in the direction of the constellation Centaurus. Astronomers suggest that the reason for this is the Great Attractor (Great Attractor), an object with such a force of gravity, which is enough to attract whole galaxies to itself. True, to find out what kind of object, scientists for a long time could not. Supposedly this object is located behind the so-called “zone of avoidance” (ZOA), a region in the sky covered by the Milky Way galaxy.

However, over time, X-ray came to the rescueastronomy. Its development allowed to look behind the ZOA area and find out what exactly is the cause of such a strong gravitational attraction. True, what scientists saw put them in an even greater dead end. It turned out that behind the ZOA area there is a usual cluster of galaxies. The dimensions of this cluster did not correlate with the force of gravitational attraction exerted on our galaxy. But, as soon as the scientists decided to look deeper into space, they soon discovered that our galaxy is being attracted towards an even larger object. It turned out to be the Shapley supercluster - the most massive supercluster of galaxies in the observable Universe.

Supercluster consists of more than 8000 galaxies. Its mass is about 10,000 more than the mass of the Milky Way.

Great Wall CfA2

Like most objects on this list, the GreatThe wall (also known as the Great Wall of CfA2) once also boasted the title of the largest known space object in the Universe. She was discovered by American astrophysicist Margaret Joan Geller and John Peter Hunroy while studying the redshift effect for the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics. According to scientists, its length is 500 million light years, the width is 300 million, and the thickness is 15 million light years.

The exact dimensions of the Great Wall are stillremain a mystery to scientists. It can be much more than is believed, and have a length of 750 million light years. The problem in determining the exact dimensions lies in the location of this gigantic structure. As in the case of the Shapley supercluster, the Great Wall is partially covered by the “avoidance zone”.

In general, this “avoidance zone” does not allowsee about 20 percent of the observed (reachable for today's telescopes) universe. It is located inside the Milky Way and is a dense accumulation of gas and dust (as well as a high concentration of stars), which greatly distort the observations. In order to look through the “avoidance zone”, astronomers have to use, for example, infrared telescopes, which allow them to break through another 10 percent of the “avoidance zone”. Through what infrared waves cannot break through, radio waves are breaking through, as well as near-infrared spectrum and X-rays. Nevertheless, the actual absence of the opportunity to consider such a large region of space somewhat frustrates scientists. The “zone of avoidance” may contain information that can fill in the gaps in our knowledge of space.

Laniakea supercluster

Galaxies are usually grouped together. These groups are called clusters. Regions of space, where these clusters are more densely located among themselves, are called superclusters. Earlier, astronomers carried out mapping of these objects by determining their physical location in the Universe, but recently a new way of mapping local space was invented. This allowed us to shed light on information that was previously unavailable.

New local mapping principlespace and its galaxies are not based on the calculation of the location of objects, but on observations of the indicators of the gravitational effect exerted by objects. Thanks to a new method, the location of galaxies is determined and on the basis of this a map is drawn of the distribution of gravity in the Universe. Compared to the old ones, the new method is more advanced, because it allows astronomers not only to mark new objects in the visible Universe, but also to find new objects in places where it has not been possible to look.

First results from a local cluster studygalaxies using the new method revealed a new supercluster. The importance of this study lies in the fact that it will allow us to better understand where our place in the universe is. It was previously believed that the Milky Way is inside the Virgo supercluster, but the new research method shows that this region is only part of the Laniakea, one of the largest objects in the Universe. It extends over 520 million light years, and we are somewhere inside it.

Great Wall of Sloan

For the first time, the Great Wall of Sloan was discovered in2003 as part of the Sloan Digital Sky Survey project - a scientific mapping of hundreds of millions of galaxies, to identify the largest objects in the Universe. The Great Wall of Sloan is a giant galactic filament consisting of several superclusters. They are like the tentacles of a giant octopus distributed in all directions of the universe. Due to its length of 1.4 billion light years, the “wall” was once considered the largest object in the universe.

The Great Wall of Sloan itself is not as studied assuperclusters that are inside it. Some of these superclusters are interesting in their own right and deserve special mention. One, for example, has a nucleus of galaxies, which together look like giant antennae. Inside another supercluster, there is a high gravitational interaction between galaxies - many of them are now undergoing a period of confluence.

The presence of the "wall" and any other largerObjects creates new questions about the mysteries of the universe. Their existence contradicts the cosmological principle, which theoretically limits how large objects in the Universe can be. According to this principle, the laws of the universe do not allow objects of more than 1.2 billion light-years to exist. However, objects like the Great Wall of Sloan completely contradict this view.

Quasars group Huge-LQG7

Quasars are high energyastronomical objects located in the center of galaxies. It is believed that the center of quasars are supermassive black holes, which attract the surrounding matter. This leads to a huge emission of radiation, the energy of which is 1000 times greater than the energy produced by all the stars inside the galaxy. At the moment, in the third place among the largest structural objects in the Universe is the group of quasars Huge-LQG, consisting of 73 quasars scattered over 4 billion light years. Scientists believe that such a massive group of quasars, as well as similar ones, is one of the reasons for the emergence of the largest structural in the Universe, such as, for example, the Great Wall of Sloan.

A group of quasars Huge-LQG was discovered afteranalysis of the same data by which the Great Wall of Sloan was discovered. Scientists have determined its presence after mapping one of the regions of space using a special algorithm that measures the density of the location of quasars on a particular area.

It should be noted that the very existence of Huge-LQGstill subject to controversy. Some scientists believe that this region of space really represents a single group of quasars, other scientists are confident that the quasars within this area of ​​space are randomly located and are not part of one group.

Giant gamma ring

Stretching 5 billion light yearsThe giant galactic gamma ring (Giant GRB Ring) is the second largest object in the universe. In addition to the incredible size, this object attracts attention due to its unusual shape. Astronomers, studying the bursts of gamma rays (huge energy emissions, which are formed as a result of the death of massive stars), found a series of nine bursts, whose sources were at the same distance from the Earth. These bursts formed a ring in the sky, 70 times the diameter of the full moon. Given that gamma-ray bursts themselves are quite rare, the chance that they will form a similar shape in the sky is 1 to 20,000. This allowed scientists to assume that they are witnesses of one of the largest structural objects in the Universe. .

The “ring” itself is just a termdescribing the visual representation of this phenomenon when viewed from the Earth. According to one of the assumptions, the giant gamma ring may be a projection of a certain sphere around which all gamma radiation emissions occurred in a relatively short period of time of about 250 million years. True, the question here is what the source could have created such a sphere. One explanation is related to the assumption that galaxies can gather in groups around a huge concentration of dark matter. However, this is only a theory. Scientists still do not know how such structures are formed.

Great Wall Hercules - Northern Crown

The largest structural object in the universewas also discovered by astronomers in the framework of monitoring gamma radiation. This object, called the Great Wall of Hercules - Northern Crown, extends 10 billion light-years, which makes it twice the size of the Giant galactic gamma ring. Since the brightest bursts of gamma radiation produce larger stars, usually located in areas of space where there is more matter, astronomers each time metaphorically consider each such burst as a needle thrust into something larger. When scientists discovered that gamma-ray bursts too often occur in the space region in the direction of the constellations Hercules and Northern Crown, they determined that there is an astronomical object, which is most likely a dense concentration of galactic clusters and other matter.

Interesting fact: the name "Great Wall Hercules - Northern Crown" was coined by the Filipino teenager who wrote it down in Wikipedia (anyone who wants it can edit this electronic encyclopedia). Shortly after the news that astronomers discovered a huge structure in the cosmic sky, an article appeared on the pages of Wikipedia. Despite the fact that the invented name does not quite accurately describe this object (the wall covers several constellations at once, and not just two), the global Internet quickly got used to it. Perhaps this is the first time that “Wikipedia” has given the name of the object discovered and interesting from a scientific point of view.

Since the very existence of this “wall” also contradicts the cosmological principle, scientists have to revise some of their theories about how the Universe actually formed.

Space web

Scientists believe that the expansion of the universedoes not happen randomly. There are theories according to which all the galaxies of space are organized into one structure of unbelievable size, resembling filamentous joints, uniting dense regions among themselves. These threads are scattered between less dense voids. Scientists call this structure the Cosmic Web.

According to scientists, the web was formed on a veryearly stages of the history of the universe. Initially, the formation of the web was unstable and heterogeneous, which subsequently helped the formation of all that is now in the Universe. It is believed that the "threads" of this web played a big role in the evolution of the Universe - they accelerated it. It is noted that the galaxies that are inside these filaments have a significantly higher star formation. In addition, these filaments are a kind of bridge for the gravitational interaction between galaxies. After their formation inside these filaments, the galaxies are sent to galactic clusters, where they eventually die.

Only recently have scientists begun to understand whatreally is this cosmic web. Studying one of the distant quasars, the researchers noted that their radiation affects one of the strands of the Cosmic Web. The light of the quasar headed straight for one of the strands, which heated up the gases in it and made them glow. Based on these observations, scientists were able to imagine the distribution of threads among other galaxies, thereby creating a picture of the "skeleton of space".