عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

تم العثور على أنواع "منقرضة" من الحرباء في مدغشقر. لماذا كان من الصعب العثور عليهم؟

مهما كان الأمر مخيفًا ، لكن اليومانقراض الحيوانات أمر شائع. لم ير العلماء بعض الكائنات الحية منذ بداية القرن العشرين ويعتبرون منقرضين تمامًا. على سبيل المثال ، شوهدت حرباء Voeltskov (Furcifer voeltzkowi) آخر مرة بواسطة العلماء في عام 1913. لكن بعض الباحثين ما زالوا يعتقدون أن هذه الحرباء لا تزال على قيد الحياة. وكل ذلك لأن مدة حياتهم قصيرة جدًا ، لذلك من الصعب جدًا اللحاق بهم في مرحلة البلوغ. في 2018 أخصائيي الزواحف ذهب إلى جزيرة مدغشقر على أملالعثور على الحرباء "المنقرضة" ووجدوها لدهشتهم. لقد تمكنوا من وصف هذه المخلوقات بأكثر الطرق تفصيلاً واكتشاف السبب الآخر الذي كان يصعب العثور عليه طوال هذا الوقت.

الحرباء Voeltzkova (Furcifer voeltzkowi)

أخصائيي الزواحف - علماء يدرسون البرمائيات والزواحف. في الطب البيطري ، يعالج أخصائيو الزواحف السلاحف والإغوانا والسحالي والثعابين.

حرباء مدغشقر

حول اكتشاف الحرباء المنقرضةتم الإبلاغ عنه في المجلة العلمية New Atlas. يبحث العلماء عن كائنات منقرضة محتملة في مدغشقر لأن هذه الجزيرة هي موطن لمعظم الحرباء. يكتشفون بانتظام أنواعًا جديدة من هذه الزواحف هناك - في عام 2015 وحده ، تم اكتشاف 11 نوعًا جديدًا. لسوء الحظ ، فإنهم يموتون بشكل جماعي بسبب إزالة الغابات النشطة. تم اكتشاف حرباء Voeltskov المذكورة أعلاه لأول مرة في عام 1893 ، لكن العلماء لم يتمكنوا من رؤيتها مرة أخرى لما يقرب من مائة عام. حتى أن منظمة الحفظ العالمية للحياة البرية أدرجت هذه المخلوقات في قائمة 25 نوعًا من الحيوانات المطلوبة.

تشمل هذه القائمة أيضًا الحياة الليلية الهندية الصينيةالقرش (قرش بونديشيري) والسنجاب الطائر الأسامي (السنجاب الطائر نامدافا) والخفاش قصير الذيل النيوزيلندي الكبير (ميستاسينا روبوستا). يمكن الاطلاع على القائمة بأكملها على موقع المنظمة.

فريق من الباحثين بقيادة عالم الزواحفبدأ فرانك جلاو بالبحث عن الحرباء المختفية في مقاطعة ماهاجانجا الواقعة شمال غرب مدغشقر. هناك تم اكتشاف هذه المخلوقات منذ حوالي مائة عام. لم يستغرق البحث وقتًا طويلاً ، لأن الكائنات التي تغير لونها شوهدت في حديقة أحد الفنادق. في المجموع ، تمكن العلماء من العثور على 3 ذكور و 15 إناث.

نادرًا ما يغير ذكور الحرباء في Voeltskov لون الجسم

لم يتمكن العلماء فقط من الاكتشافممثلو أنواع الحرباء التي تعتبر منقرضة ، لذلك وصفوا أولاً إناث هذه المخلوقات. اتضح أن الذكور يظلون أخضرون معظم الوقت ، بينما تغير الإناث لونها بنشاط. من الجدير بالذكر أنهم بحاجة إلى تغيير لون البشرة ليس فقط للتخفي - يلعب لون الجسم أيضًا دورًا مهمًا في التواصل

يمكن العثور على الحرباء في راحة يدك

يمكنك قراءة المزيد حول كيفية تغيير الحرباء لونها ولماذا تفعل ذلك في مقال على قناتنا في Yandex.Zen.

عمر الحرباء

وفوق كل هذا العلماء مرة أخرىأكد أن حرباء Voeltskov تعيش القليل جدًا. وفقًا لحساباتهم ، فإن العمر الافتراضي للحرباء أقل من عام واحد. يفقس صغار البيض من أكتوبر إلى نوفمبر ، خلال موسم الأمطار في مدغشقر. تنمو بسرعة كبيرة وتبدأ في التكاثر. بعد حوالي عام ، مع بداية موسم الجفاف ، يموت الكبار تاركين وراءهم مجموعة من البيض. اتضح أنه في مدغشقر ، لا يمكن العثور على حرباء Voeltskov إلا في عدة أشهر معينة. وهذا هو السبب في أنها لم تكن مرئية لفترة طويلة - لم يتمكن العلماء ببساطة من التقاط هذه اللحظة. ومع ذلك ، ربما التقى بهم الناس العاديون ، لكنهم لم يعرفوا أنهم كانوا محل اهتمام كبير للعلماء.

في الوقت الحالي ، يريد العلماء معرفة مكان آخريمكن أن تعيش حرباء Voeltskov. يعتقدون أن هذه المخلوقات يمكن أن تعيش خارج مقاطعة ماهاجانجا ، ولكن على بعد 100 كيلومتر منها. بالنظر إلى أن إزالة الغابات جارية في مدغشقر ، يجب العثور على الحيوانات وحمايتها في أسرع وقت ممكن.

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، فقم بالاشتراك في قناة Telegram الخاصة بنا. هناك ستجد إعلانات عن آخر الأخبار من موقعنا!

لطالما تم النظر في بعض أنواع الحيواناتانقرضت ، ولكن بعد ذلك يعاد اكتشافها. على سبيل المثال ، في عام 2019 ، تم العثور على حيوانات شبيهة بالغزلان في فيتنام ، ويشار إليها باسم البروتينات الفضية (Tragulus vericolor). يمكنك قراءة المزيد عنها في هذه المقالة. انتبه للصور ، فهذه كائنات لطيفة بحجم قطة منزلية!

General, Research, Technology

"Extinct" species of chameleons have been found in Madagascar. Why was it difficult to find them?

No matter how scary it was to realize it, but todayextinction of animals is common. Scientists have not seen some living creatures since the beginning of the 20th century and are already considered completely extinct. For example, Voeltskov's chameleons (Furcifer voeltzkowi) were last seen by scientists in 1913. But some researchers still believed that these chameleons could still survive. And all because the duration of their life is very short, so it is very difficult to catch them in adulthood. In 2018 herpetologists went to Madagascar island hopingfind the "extinct" chameleons and, to their surprise, found them. They managed to describe these creatures in the most detail and find out for what other reason they were difficult to find all this time.

Chameleon Voeltzkova (Furcifer voeltzkowi)

Herpetologists - scientists studying amphibians and reptiles. In veterinary medicine, herpetologists treat turtles, iguanas, lizards and snakes.

Chameleons of Madagascar

About the discovery of extinct chameleonswas reported in the scientific journal New Atlas. Scientists are looking for potentially extinct creatures in Madagascar because this island is home to most of the chameleons. They regularly discover new species of these reptiles there - in 2015 alone, 11 new species were discovered. Unfortunately, they are dying out en masse due to active deforestation. The aforementioned Voeltskov chameleons were first discovered in 1893, but scientists could not see them again for almost a hundred years. The conservation organization Global Wildlife Conservation has even listed these creatures as one of the 25 most wanted species of animals.

This list also includes Indo-Chinese nightlifeshark (Pondicherry shark), Assamese flying squirrel (Namdapha flying squirrel) and New Zealand great short-tailed bat (Mystacina robusta). The entire list can be viewed on the organization's website.

A team of researchers led by a herpetologistFrank Glaw started searching for the disappeared chameleons in the province of Mahajanga, located in the northwest of Madagascar. It was there that these creatures were discovered about a hundred years ago. It didn't take long to search, because the creatures changing their color were seen in the garden of one of the hotels. In total, scientists managed to find 3 males and 15 females.

Voeltskov's male chameleons rarely change body color

Not only have scientists been able to discoverrepresentatives of the species of chameleons considered extinct, so they also first described the females of these creatures. It turned out that males remain green most of the time, while females actively change their color. It is noteworthy that they need a change in skin tone not only for disguise - body color also plays an important role in communication.

Found chameleons can fit in the palm of your hand

You can read more about how chameleons change their color and why they do it in an article on our channel in Yandex.Zen.

Chameleon lifespan

On top of all this, scientists once againconfirmed that Voeltskov's chameleons live very little. According to their calculations, the life span of chameleons is less than one year. Young individuals hatch from eggs in October-November, during the rainy season in Madagascar. They grow very quickly and begin to reproduce. About a year later, by the beginning of the dry season, the adults die, leaving behind a clutch of eggs. It turns out that in Madagascar, Voeltskov's chameleons can be found only in certain several months. And that is why they were not visible for a long time - scientists simply could not catch this moment. However, ordinary people probably met them, they just did not know that they were of great interest to scientists.

At the moment, scientists want to find out where elseVoeltskov's chameleons can live. They believe that these creatures can live outside the province of Mahajanga, but no further than 100 kilometers from it. Considering the deforestation in Madagascar, the animals should be found and protected as soon as possible.

If you are interested in the news of science and technology, subscribe to our Telegram channel. There you will find announcements of the latest news from our site!

Some species of animals have long been consideredextinct, but then they are re-discovered. For example, in 2019, deer-like animals were found in Vietnam, referred to as silver chevroteins (Tragulus vericolor). You can read more about them in this article. Pay attention to the photos, these are cute creatures the size of a domestic cat!