عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

هل من الممكن تحديد جنس الديناصور من عظامه؟

في بعض الأحيان علماء الحفريات الذين يدرسونبقايا متحجرة للحيوانات والنباتات القديمة ، واكتشاف أنواع جديدة من الديناصورات. من خلال دراسة عظامهم ، يمكن للعلماء أن يحددوا بدقة كبيرة كيف ينظرون وما يأكلون. ولكن ، بدراسة بنية العظام ، لا يمكنهم عمليا تحديد الجنس الدقيق للفرد المكتشف ، لأنهم ببساطة لا يعرفون كيف اختلف الذكور عن الإناث - لا يتم الحفاظ على الأعضاء التناسلية حتى يومنا هذا. في السابق ، تم تحديد جنس بعض الديناصورات من خلال حجم العظام ، ولكن دراسة جديدة أجرتها مجموعة دولية من علماء الحفريات أثبتت أن هذه الطريقة في تحديد الذكور والإناث تؤدي إلى نتائج غير صحيحة.

يعتقد عالم الحفريات كينيث كاربنتر أنه يمكن تحديد جنس الديناصورات من خلال عظامهم ، ولكن هل هذا صحيح؟

المحتوى

  • 1 ما هو إزدواج الشكل الجنسي؟
  • 2 الفروق بين الجنسين في الديناصورات
  • 3 ديناصورات حديثة
  • 4 ـ الصعوبات في دراسة الديناصورات

ما هو مثنوية الشكل بين الجنسين؟

عادة ما تسمى الاختلافات بين الإناث والذكور من نفس النوع مثنوية الشكل الجنسية... يمكن اعتبار مثال صارخ لهذه الظاهرةوجود بدة خصبة في ذكور الأسود وغياب "الشعر الفاخر" في اللبوات. يمكنك أيضًا إلقاء نظرة على الطاووس - فالذكور يتمتعون بريش مشرق للغاية ، بينما لا تتمتع الإناث بمثل هذا الجمال.

الأسود لها شعر فاخر على رؤوسها - هكذا تختلف عن الإناث

في بعض الأحيان يكون العكس ، عندما تكون الخصائص الجنسية المميزة أكثر وضوحًا عند الإناث. ما يسمى عكس مثنوية الشكل الجنسي يمكن ملاحظتها في أصغر طيور العالم -الطائر الطنان. عند المشي في مساحات أمريكا الشمالية والجنوبية الشاسعة أو مشاهدة فيلم وثائقي أثناء الجلوس على الأريكة ، ستلاحظ أن بعض الأفراد أكبر بكثير من الآخرين. لذلك ، للإناث أجسام كبيرة ، ويمكن أن يصل حجم الذكور إلى 5 سنتيمترات فقط.

بناءً على ما سبق ، يمكننا افتراض وجود أنثى طائر طنان على اليسار

الاختلافات الجنسية في الديناصورات

في عام 1992 ، عالم الحفريات كينيث كاربنترأعلن كاربنتر أنه وجد علامات ازدواج الشكل الجنسي العكسي في الديناصورات ، والتي ربما تعتبر أشهر الديناصورات في العالم. في ورقته العلمية "التباين في نظام الديناصورات الديناصورات: المناهج ووجهات النظر" ، خلص إلى أن أنثى التيرانوصور ركس كانت أكبر من الذكور. قدم تخمينه بعد فحص رفات 25 فردًا من الحيوانات المفترسة القديمة.

هذا مشابه لكيفية تصوير التيرانوصورات الأنثوية والذكور في Jurassic Park لستيفن سبيلبرغ

الجمهور أتقن بسرعة هذه المعلومات - البيانأن إناث التيرانوصورات كانت أكبر من الذكور لا يزال من الممكن العثور عليها في المواقع التي تحتوي على "حقائق مثيرة للاهتمام". ومع ذلك ، في الآونة الأخيرة قامت مجموعة من العلماء من المملكة المتحدة والولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وكندا بتدمير هذه الأسطورة تقريبًا. كجزء من عملهم العلمي ، قرروا معرفة ما إذا كانت علامات الاختلاف بين الجنسين يمكن أن تستمر في بقايا الحفريات.

الديناصورات الحديثة

كأهداف للبحث ، النتائجالتي تم نشرها في المجلة العلمية PreeJ ، أخذوا 106 جماجم gavial تبرعت بها متاحف مختلفة حول العالم. من المعتاد تسمية gavials بنوع خاص من التماسيح ذات أنوف طويلة مدببة. كان أسلافهم البعيدين موجودون منذ ملايين السنين ، خلال زمن الديناصورات ، لذلك ليس من المستغرب أن تتشابه غاريال اليوم مع الحيوانات المفترسة القديمة.

ويعتقد أن الغاريال على حافة الهاويةانقراض. ولكن في عام 2019 ، أصبح معروفًا أنهم بدأوا في التكاثر بنشاط - تم العثور على المئات من صغار هذه التماسيح في جنوب آسيا. اقرأ المزيد عن هذا الحدث في مادتنا.

مثل الديناصورات ، الغاريال كبيرةالزواحف التي تضع البيض. لديهم مثنوية الشكل الجنسي - هناك "نتوء" ملحوظ على أنف الذكور ، يتكون من الأنسجة الرخوة وتدعمه عظام صغيرة في منطقة الخياشيم. من خلال دراسة مئات البقايا المتحجرة ، لم يتمكن العلماء من تحديد جنس الزواحف ، حتى مع وجود دليل واضح مثل الهياكل العظمية على الأنف. إذا تم تدمير السمات المميزة للزواحف بمرور الوقت ، فمن المستحيل ببساطة التمييز بين الذكور من الحيوانات المفترسة القديمة والإناث.

في الصورة - غافيل ذكر مع "نتوء" على الأنف

صعوبات في دراسة الديناصورات

بناءً على ذلك ، توصل العلماء إلى استنتاج مفاده أنمن المستحيل تحديد جنس الديناصورات من خلال عظامها. أولاً ، لم يكن للذكور والإناث من العمالقة القدامى سمات مميزة مثل نمو الأنف - على الأقل لم يتم العثور على شيء من هذا النوع في التيرانوصورات. ثانيًا ، تم الافتراض حول أحجام الجسم المختلفة في التيرانوصورات من الجنسين على أساس البيانات التي تم الحصول عليها من دراسة عظام 25 فردًا. وهذه ، وفقًا للعلماء ، عينة صغيرة جدًا بحيث لا يمكنها الإدلاء ببيانات صاخبة مثل "أنثى التيرانوصورات أكبر من الذكور".

لسوء الحظ ، تم العثور على العديد من الديناصورات فقط في نسخة واحدة.

ربما طريقة لتحديد جنس الديناصورات عن طريقسيتم اختراع العظام عندما يتمكن علماء الحفريات من العثور على بقايا مائتي فرد على الأقل. ومع ذلك ، فإنها ستطبق فقط على بعض أنواع الديناصورات ، وليس كلها. على سبيل المثال ، في المستقبل ، قد يجد العلماء عمليات عظمية على بقايا ذكور التيرانوصورات ، والتي سيميزها وجودها عن الإناث. ولكن ما إذا كانت مثل هذه الأوقات ستأتي أم لا - بمرور الوقت ، يمكن تدمير عظام الديناصورات بواسطة الصفائح التكتونية التي تتحرك تحت الأرض أو تحت تأثير عوامل أخرى.

إذا كنت مهتمًا بأخبار العلوم والتكنولوجيا ، فقم بالاشتراك في قناتنا في ياندكس. ستجد هناك مواد لم يتم نشرها على الموقع!

وفي الوقت الحالي علينا أن نكتفياكتشاف أنواع جديدة من الديناصورات ، يتواجد أفراد منها عادة في نسخة واحدة. خذ ، على سبيل المثال ، ديناصور Vayuraptor nongbualamphuensis الذي تم التنقيب عنه في تايلاند ، والذي يبلغ طول جسمه 4.5 مترًا وله أرجل تشبه الدجاج. أوصي بقراءة المواد حول هذا المفترس غير العادي في الوقت الحالي - تشرح المقالة أيضًا سبب عدم العثور على الديناصورات تقريبًا في روسيا.

General, Research, Technology

Is it possible to determine the sex of a dinosaur by its bones?

Occasionally paleontologists who studyfossilized remains of ancient animals and plants, discover new species of dinosaurs. By studying their bones, scientists can determine with great accuracy how they looked and what they ate. But, studying the structure of bones, they practically cannot name the exact sex of the discovered individual, because they simply don’t know how the males differed from the females - the genitals are not preserved to this day. Previously, the sex of some dinosaurs was determined by bone size, but a new study by an international group of paleontologists proves that this method of identifying males and females produces incorrect results.

Paleontologist Kenneth Carpenter believes that the sex of dinosaurs can be determined by their bones, but is that so?

Content

  • 1 What is sex dimorphism?
  • 2 Gender differences in dinosaurs
  • 3 Modern dinosaurs
  • 4 Difficulties in the study of dinosaurs

What is dimorphism of the sexes?

The differences between females and males of the same species are usually called sexual dimorphisms. A striking example of this phenomenon can be consideredthe presence of lush mane in male lions and the absence of "luxurious hair" in lionesses. You can also look at peacocks - males have a very bright plumage, while females do not have such beauty.

Lions have luxurious hair on their heads - this is how they differ from females

Sometimes it happens the other way around when the distinctive sexual characteristics are more pronounced in females. So-called reverse sexual dimorphism can be seen in the smallest birds in the world -hummingbird. Walking through the expanses of North and South America or watching a documentary while sitting on the couch, you will notice that some individuals are much larger than others. So, females possess large bodies, and the size of males can be as little as 5 centimeters.

Based on the above, we can assume that on the left is a female hummingbird

Gender differences in dinosaurs

In 1992, paleontologist Kenneth Carpenter (KennethCarpenter) announced that it found signs of reverse sexual dimorphism in tyrannosaurs, which are considered perhaps the most famous dinosaurs in the world. In his scientific work Variation in Tyrannosaurus rex / Dinosaur Systematics: Approaches and Perspectives, he concluded that female tyrannosaurs were larger than males. He put forward his assumption after he examined the remains of 25 individuals of ancient predators.

Something like that depicted females and males of tyrannosaurs in the film by Steven Spielberg "Jurassic Park"

The public quickly mastered this information - statementthat females of tyrannosaurs were larger than males can still be found on sites with “interesting facts”. However, recently a group of scientists from the UK, USA and Canada, almost destroyed this myth. As part of their scientific work, they decided to find out whether signs of gender difference can persist on fossil remains.

Modern dinosaurs

As objects of study, the resultswhich were published in the scientific journal PreeJ, they took 106 gavial skulls provided by various museums around the world. Gaviales are called a special type of crocodile with long, pointed noses. Their distant ancestors existed millions of years ago, during the time of the dinosaurs, so it is not surprising that the present gavials have many similarities with ancient predators.

The gavials are believed to be on the brinkextinction. But in 2019 it became known that they began to breed actively - in South Asia hundreds of cubs of these crocodiles were found. Read more about this event in our material.

Like dinosaurs, gavials are largereptiles that lay eggs. They have sexual dimorphism - on the nose of males there is a noticeable "bump", consisting of soft tissues and supported by small bones in the nostrils. Studying hundreds of fossilized remains, scientists could hardly determine the sex of reptiles, even with such an obvious clue as bone structures on the nose. If the distinguishing features of reptiles have been destroyed over time, it is simply impossible to distinguish males of ancient predators from females.

In the photo - male gavial with a "bump" on the nose

Difficulties learning dinosaurs

Based on this, scientists came to the conclusion thatto determine the sex of dinosaurs by their bones is impossible. Firstly, the males and females of the ancient giants did not have distinctive features such as growths on the nose - at least nothing similar was found in tyrannosaurs. Secondly, the assumption of different body sizes in tyrannosaurs of opposite sexes was made on the basis of data obtained by studying the bones of 25 individuals. And this, according to scientists, is too small a sample to make such loud statements as “female tyrannosaurs were larger than males”.

Unfortunately, many dinosaurs are found only in a single copy.

Perhaps a method for determining the sex of dinosaurs bybones will be invented when paleontologists manage to discover the remains of at least a couple of hundred individuals. But even in this case, it will be applicable only to some types of dinosaurs, and not to all. For example, in the future, scientists may find bone processes on the remains of male tyrannosaurs, the presence of which will distinguish them from females. But whether such times come, it is not known - over time, the bones of dinosaurs can be destroyed by moving tectonic plates underground, or under the influence of other factors.

If you are interested in the news of science and technology, subscribe to our channel in Yandex. Dzen. There you will find materials that have not been published on the site!

And at the moment we can only be contentthe discovery of new species of dinosaurs, individuals of which are usually found in a single copy. Take, for example, the dinosaur Vayuraptor nongbualamphuensis, excavated in Thailand, whose body length was 4.5 meters, and the legs were similar to chicken. I recommend reading the material about this unusual predator right now - the article also explains why dinosaurs almost did not occur in Russia.