عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

من هم "نمل الجحيم" ولماذا يبدون بهذا الغرابة؟

حتى الآن ، يعرف العلماء عنوجود ما يقرب من 15000 نوع من النمل. بالنظر إلى أن معظمنا قد رأى 3-4 منهم كحد أقصى بأعيننا ، فقد تكون هذه الحقيقة بالنسبة لبعض الناس مفاجئة تمامًا. وهذا الرقم بعيد عن الحد الأقصى ، لأن العلماء واثقون من أنهم سيكونون قادرين في المستقبل القريب على اكتشاف حوالي 10000 نوع آخر من النمل. لسوء الحظ ، لن يكونوا جميعًا على قيد الحياة ، لأن معظم الحشرات انقرضت منذ فترة طويلة ولا يمكن التعرف عليها إلا من خلال بقاياها. ويتم حفظ بقايا النمل حصريًا داخل راتنج الشجرة المتحجر ، المعروف باسم العنبر. في عام 2017 على الأرض ميانمار تم العثور على قطعة من الكهرمان ، بداخلهاأحد أسلاف النمل الحديث القدامى يأكل خنفساء صغيرة. تم التعرف على نوع هذا المفترس مؤخرًا فقط - اتضح أنه ما يسمى بـ "النمل الجهنمي" مع قرن على جبهته وفك "بشري". ما الأشياء الأخرى المثيرة للاهتمام التي تمكن العلماء من التعرف عليها عن هذا المخلوق الغريب؟

هذا رأس نملة. لكن ليس الجحيم ، بل عادي

ميانمار - دولة تقع في جنوب شرق آسيا. في الجزء الشمالي الشرقي منه ، يتم استخراج ما يسمى بالعنبر البورمي ، والذي توجد بداخله غالبًا حشرات متحجرة من العصور القديمة.

النمل القديم

كان من أوائل النمل على الأرضقال في المجلة العلمية Current Biology. في الواقع ، هؤلاء "النمل الجهنمي" نفسه معروف للعلماء لفترة طويلة. في المجموع ، اكتشف العلماء 16 نوعًا ، ولم يُعرف وجود 14 منها إلا في العقود الأخيرة. تم العثور عليها جميعًا في الكهرمان عمرها حوالي 100 مليون سنة وهي مختلفة تمامًا عن النمل الحديث. بالنسبة للجزء الأكبر ، هذه المخلوقات "الجهنمية" لها مظهر هائل - لها قرون رهيبة ، ثم فكوك قوية. الفرد الذي تم العثور عليه ، والذي يُنسب إلى مجموعة Ceratomyrmex ellenbergeri ، لديه مثل هذه الميزات.

نملة الجحيم وضحيتها داخل العنبر ومن وجهة نظر الفنانة

في جزء الكهرمان الموجود ، سلف العصر الحديثيتغذى النمل على الصرصور Caputoraptor elegans. انقرض ممثلو هذا النوع من الحشرات أيضًا منذ فترة طويلة ، لذلك أتيحت لنا فرصة رؤية إطار تجميد لتصادم الكائنات التي عاشت منذ ملايين السنين. مثل النمل الحديث ، يحتوي المخلوق المنقرض على فك سفلي ، يُعرف أيضًا باسم الفك السفلي. هذا هو اسم الفكين المزدوجين ، اللذين يفتحان أفقيًا ويستخدمان لمضغ الطعام وبناء الأعشاش. الآن فقط ، بالنسبة للنمل الجهنمية ، لم يفتحوا أفقيًا ، لكنهم عملوا مثل الفكين البشريين ، يتحركون عموديًا بشكل صارم.

الفك السفلي من الحشرات

أيضا على رأس نملة منغمسة في العنبرهناك قرن. على ما يبدو ، لم يخمن العلماء على الفور الغرض منه ، لأنهم ركزوا انتباههم عليه. الآن يعتقدون أن هذا القرن تم استخدامه للقبض على الضحية. وبالتالي ، يمكنهم الاستيلاء على الصراصير مباشرة بمساعدة فكها ، وعن طريق رفع الفك العلوي والضغط على الضحية بينه وبين القرن. ليست مريحة للغاية ، ولكن هذه الميزة في بنية الجسم زادت بوضوح من فرصة التقاط الفريسة.

هيكل رأس نملة جهنمي

انقراض الحيوانات

يعتقد الباحثون أن النمل مع القرونظهرت على أنها "تجربة تطورية". ربما كانوا سيعيشون حتى يومنا هذا ، لكنهم انقرضوا مع الديناصورات ، منذ حوالي 66 مليون سنة. حقيقة أن العديد من الحشرات كانت قادرة على النجاة من الكارثة ، ولكن هؤلاء النمل لم يتمكنوا من ذلك ، تثبت أن جميع الكائنات الحية تقريبًا على كوكبنا يمكن أن تكون على وشك الانقراض. لكن في الوقت الحالي ، يتفوق التهديد على الكثير من الحيوانات. على سبيل المثال ، أصبح معروفًا مؤخرًا أن الهامستر الشائع معرض لخطر الانقراض. لكن كان يعتقد سابقًا أن القوارض مخلوقات عنيدة للغاية ويمكنها التكيف حتى مع الظروف القاسية. كما ترى ، حتى الصراصير المنتشرة في كل مكان ستصبح من الأنواع المهددة بالانقراض بهذا المعدل. حتى العلماء ألمحوا إلى كل هذا ، لذلك يجب على البشرية بالتأكيد الاهتمام بالبيئة.

إذا كنت تحب مقالاتنا ، فاشترك معنا في أخبار Google! سيؤدي ذلك إلى تسهيل تتبع المحتوى الجديد.

الآن فقط ، هذا ليس سهلاً كما يبدو. الطريقة التي يتم بها ترتيب الإنسانية هي أن بعض الناس لا يهتمون بالبيئة والمشاكل المعلقة على العالم بأسره. يواصل معظمنا استخدام الأكياس البلاستيكية والزجاجات البلاستيكية ، على الرغم من أن التقارير التي تفيد بأنها ملأت البحار والمحيطات يبدو أنها تزداد كل عام. أصبح معروفًا مؤخرًا أنه إذا لم تتخذ البشرية تدابير لتطهير الكوكب من القمامة ، فإن كتلة النفايات البلاستيكية على كوكبنا ستكون 1.3 مليار طن. أي أننا نجازف بالغرق في نفاياتنا.

General, Research, Technology

Who are the "hell ants" and why do they look so strange?

To date, scientists know aboutthe existence of approximately 15,000 species of ants. Considering that most of us have seen a maximum of 3-4 of them with our own eyes, this fact for some people may be quite sudden. And this number is far from the limit, because scientists are confident that in the near future they will be able to discover about 10,000 more species of ants. Unfortunately, not all of them will be alive, because most of the insects have become extinct long ago and can only be recognized by their remains. And the remains of ants are preserved exclusively inside the fossilized tree resin, better known as amber. In 2017 on the territory Myanmar an amber fragment was found, inside whichone of the ancient ancestors of modern ants eats a small beetle. The species of this predator was recognized only recently - it turned out to be the so-called "hellish ant" with a horn on its forehead and "human" jaws. What else interesting did scientists manage to learn about this strange creature?

This is the head of an ant. But not hellish, but ordinary

Myanmar - a state located in Southeast Asia. In its northeastern part, the so-called Burmese amber is mined, inside of which there are often fossilized insects of ancient times.

Ancient ants

One of the first ants on Earth wastold in the scientific journal Current Biology. In fact, these same "hellish ants" have been known to scientists for a long time. In total, scientists discovered 16 varieties, and the existence of 14 of them became known only in recent decades. All of them were found in amber about 100 million years old and are very different from modern ants. For the most part, these "hellish" creatures have a formidable appearance - they have terrible horns, then powerful jaws. The found individual, which was attributed to the variety Ceratomyrmex ellenbergeri, has just such features.

Hell ant and its victim inside amber and in the artist's view

In the found amber fragment, the ancestor of modernants feed on the cockroach Caputoraptor elegans. Representatives of this species of insects also became extinct long ago, so we had a chance to see a freeze-frame of the collision of creatures that lived millions of years ago. Like modern ants, the extinct creature has mandibles, also known as mandibles. This is the name of the paired jaws, which open horizontally and are used to chew food and build nests. Only now, in the case of the hell ants, they did not open horizontally, but worked like human jaws, moving strictly vertically.

Insect mandibles

Also on the head of an ant immured in amberthere is a horn. Apparently, scientists did not immediately guess about its purpose, because they focused their attention on it. Now they believe that this horn was used to capture the victim. Thus, they could grab cockroaches both directly with the help of their jaws, and by raising the upper jaw and pressing the victim between it and the horn. Not very convenient, but this feature of the body structure clearly increased the chance of capturing prey.

The structure of the head of a hellish ant

Extinction of animals

Researchers believe that ants with hornsemerged as an "evolutionary experiment". Perhaps they would have lived to this day, but they became extinct along with the dinosaurs, about 66 million years ago. The fact that many insects were able to survive the catastrophe, but these ants could not, proves that almost all living organisms on our planet can be on the verge of extinction. But at the moment, the threat overtakes a lot of animals. For example, it has recently become known that common hamsters are at risk of extinction. But it was previously believed that rodents are very tenacious creatures and they can adapt even to extreme conditions. You see, even the ubiquitous cockroaches will become an endangered species at this rate. Even scientists have hinted at all this, so humanity should definitely take care of the environment.

If you like our articles, subscribe to us on Google News! This will make it easier for you to keep track of new content.

Only this is not as easy to do as it seems. The way humanity is arranged is that some people do not care about the environment and the problems hanging over the whole world. Most of us continue to use cellophane bags and plastic bottles, although reports that they have filled even the seas and oceans seem to increase every year. Recently it became known that if humanity does not take measures to cleanse the planet of debris, the mass of plastic waste on our planet will be 1.3 billion tons. That is, we risk drowning in our own waste.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!