عام. بحث. تكنولوجيا

كيف تؤثر القوة على الدماغ؟

القليل من القوة لا يؤلم ، أليس كذلك؟ أظهرت العديد من الدراسات في السنوات الأخيرة أن القوة لها نفس التأثير على الفص الجبهي للدماغ مثل إصابة الرأس وغالبًا ما تؤدي إصابات الرأس ، كما يعرف العلم الطبي ، إلى فقدان التعاطف - القدرة على التعاطف والتعاطف مع الآخرين. ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، في بعض الحالات ، يمكن أن تؤدي إصابات الدماغ الرضحية إلى الاعتلال الاجتماعي ، وتظهر الدراسات المختبرية أنه إذا منحت الناس القليل من القوة ، فإنهم سيبدو مثل المرضى الذين يعانون من إصابات الدماغ الرضحية. بمعنى آخر ، عندما تشعر بالقوة ، يتم فقد الاتصال والتواصل مع الآخرين. بمرور الوقت ، تتوقف ببساطة عن الاستماع عن كثب لما يفكر فيه الآخرون ويشعرون به. نخبرك بما يمكن للسلطات فعله بالدماغ وما إذا كان يمكن فعل شيء حيال ذلك.

القوة غير المحدودة ، على ما يبدو ، تحرم أصحابها من القدرة على التعاطف مع الآخرين.

الدماغ والقوة - ما تحتاج إلى معرفته

أعتقد أنه ليس سرا لأي مناالبيئة لها تأثير كبير على صحتنا ورفاهيتنا. يصف المؤرخ هنري آدامز ، في كتابه The Atlantic ، القوة بأنها "نوع من الورم يقتل تعاطف الضحية."

توصل الأستاذ إلى نفس النتيجة تقريبًا.علم النفس بجامعة كاليفورنيا في بيركلي داشر كيلتنر بعد عقدين من التجارب المعملية والميدانية. وجد كيلتنر أن الأشخاص الخاضعين لتأثير القوة يتصرفون كما لو كانوا قد عانوا من إصابات دماغية رضحية - وأصبحوا أكثر اندفاعًا وأقل ميلًا إلى المخاطرة ، والأهم من ذلك أنهم أقل مهارة في إدراك الأشياء من وجهة نظر الآخرين.

Suhwinder Obi ، عالم الأعصاب في الجامعةوصف McMaster في أونتاريو ، في عام 2017 أيضًا شيئًا مشابهًا. على عكس كيلتنر ، الذي يدرس السلوك ، يدرس أوبي الدماغ. عندما أجرى فحوصات التصوير بالرنين المغناطيسي بين الأشخاص الذين يتمتعون بنوع من القوة وبين أولئك الذين لم يواجهوها ، وجد أن القوة في الواقع تعيق عملية عصبية معينة تسمى "الانعكاس" ، والتي ، بالمناسبة ، يمكن أن تكون حجر الزاوية في التعاطف.

فقط تخيل ما يمكن أن تؤدي إليه القوة غير المحدودة.

اقرأ المزيد من المقالات الرائعة حول الأسرار التي يخفيها الدماغ البشري على قناتنا في Yandex.Zen. هناك مقالات منشورة بانتظام ليست على الموقع.

يوفر هذا الاكتشاف أساسًا عصبيًا لما أسماه كيلتنر "مفارقة القوة": بمجرد أن نمتلك القوة ، نخسربعض القدرات اللازمة للحصول على هذه القوة بالذات. تم إثبات فقدان القدرة هذا بطرق إبداعية مختلفة. على سبيل المثال ، أظهرت نتائج العمل الذي تم إجراؤه في عام 2006 أن الأشخاص المؤثرين أقل عرضة للتعرف على ما يشعر به الشخص الموجود في الصورة ، أو تخمين كيف قد يفسر زميل ما ملاحظة.

المشكلة الرئيسية لمن هم في السلطة في الرأيKeltner هي حقيقة أن القوى الموجودة في هذا العالم تتوقف عن تقليد الآخرين - تضحك عندما يضحك الآخرون ، لتختبر التوتر عندما يحدث الشيء نفسه للآخرين. في رأيه أصحاب النفوذ "توقفوا عن تقليد تجربة الآخرين" مما يؤدي إلى "عدم التعاطف."

لكن لا يمكن للقوى أن تحاول فقطضع نفسك مكان شخص آخر؟ أجرى أوبي دراسة أخرى حيث تم شرح ماهية التقليد وطلب منه بذل جهد واعي لزيادة أو تقليل ردود أفعالهم. كتب هو وشريكه في التأليف كاثرين نيش: "لم تظهر نتائجنا أي فرق ، ولم تساعد جهود الأشخاص في البحث عن هذه النتائج".

تساعد عمليات مسح الدماغ العلماء على فهم مناطق الدماغ المتورطة في موقف معين.

موافق ، هذا اكتشاف محبط. من المفترض أن تكون المعرفة قوة. ولكن ما فائدة معرفة أن القوة تسرق منك المعرفة؟

هل هناك أي شيء يمكنك القيام به؟

و لا و نعم. وفقًا للباحثين ، فإن وقف ميل القوة لتغيير الدماغ أمر صعب. ومع ذلك ، إذا كانت لديك القوة من وقت لآخر ولا تشعر أنك رئيس طوال الوقت ، فهناك فرص للنجاح. نظرًا لأن القوة تؤثر على طريقة تفكيرنا ، فإن موقفنا ليس منصبًا أو منصبًا ، ولكنه حالة ذهنية. فكر في الوقت الذي لم تشعر فيه بالقوة والقوة ويمكن لعقلك أن يعود إلى الواقع

سوف تكون مهتمًا بـ: كيف تؤثر الانفعالية على الآراء السياسية؟

بحسب نتائج لا تصدقوجدت دراسة نُشرت في مجلة المالية في فبراير 2016 أن الرؤساء التنفيذيين الذين عانوا من كارثة شديدة الوفاة عندما كان طفلاً كانوا أقل عزوفًا عن المخاطرة من أولئك الذين لم يفعلوا ذلك. لكن الأعاصير والبراكين وأمواج تسونامي ليست القوى الوحيدة التي تمنع الغطرسة. قالت إندرا نويي ، الرئيس التنفيذي ورئيس مجلس إدارة شركة PepsiCo ، لصحيفة The Atlantic أننا جميعًا بحاجة إلى أن نضع في اعتبارنا الظروف العادية والحاجة إلى البقاء على الأرض.

على أي حال ، النتائج المدرجة في هذايقترح مقال البحث لي أن القوة غير المحدودة ، بدون أي قيود على الإطلاق ، يمكن أن تحول الشخص إلى شخص معتل اجتماعيًا غير قادر على التعاطف. ما رأيك بهذا؟ سننتظر الجواب هنا وكذلك في التعليقات على هذا المقال.

General, Research, Technology

How does power affect the brain?

A little bit of power never hurts, does it? Several studies in recent years have shown that power has the same effect on the frontal lobes of the brain as head injury. And head injuries, as medical science knows, often lead to a loss of empathy - the ability to empathize and empathize with other people. What's more, in some cases, traumatic brain injury can lead to sociopathy, and laboratory studies show that if you give people a little power, they will look like patients with traumatic brain injury. In other words, when you feel strong, then connection and contact with other people is lost. Over time, you simply stop listening closely to what other people are thinking and feeling. We tell you what the authorities can do with the brain and whether something can be done about it.

Unlimited power, apparently, deprives its owners of the ability to sympathize with others.

Brain and Power - What You Need to Know

I think it's not a secret for any of us thatthe environment has a significant impact on our health and well-being. Historian Henry Adams, writes The Atlantic, describes power as "a kind of tumor that kills the victim's sympathy."

The professor came to about the same conclusion.Psychology University of California at Berkeley Dacher Keltner after two decades of laboratory and field experimentation. Subjects under the influence of power, Keltner found, behaved as if they had suffered a traumatic brain injury - became more impulsive, less inclined to take risks and, most importantly, less adept at perceiving things from the point of view of other people.

Suhwinder Obi, neuroscientist at the UniversityMcMaster in Ontario, in 2017 also described something similar. Unlike Keltner, who studies behavior, Obi studies the brain. When he conducted MRI scans among people with some kind of power and among those who did not face it, he found that power actually impairs a specific neural process called "mirroring", which, by the way, can be the cornerstone of empathy.

Just imagine what unlimited power can lead to.

For even more fascinating articles on what secrets the human brain hides, read our channel in Yandex.Zen. There are regularly published articles that are not on the site.

The discovery provides a neurological basis for what Keltner called The "paradox of power": as soon as we have the power, we losesome of the abilities needed to get this very power. This loss of ability has been demonstrated in various creative ways. For example, the results of the work carried out in 2006 showed that influential people are less likely to recognize what the person in the picture is feeling, or guess how a colleague might interpret a remark.

The main problem of those in power in the opinionKeltner is the fact that the powers that be of this world cease to imitate others - to laugh when others laugh, to experience tension when the same happens to others. In his opinion, influential people “stop imitating the experience of others,” which leads to "Lack of empathy."

But can't the powers that be just tryput yourself in another person's shoes? Obi conducted another study in which subjects were explained what imitation is and asked them to make a conscious effort to increase or decrease their reactions. "Our results," he and his co-author Catherine Neish wrote, "showed no difference, and the efforts of the subjects did not help."

Brain scans help scientists understand which areas of the brain are involved in a given situation.

Agree, this is a depressing discovery. Knowledge is supposed to be power. But what good is knowing that power robs you of knowledge?

Is there anything you can do?

And no and yes. Stopping the tendency of power to change the brain is difficult, according to researchers. However, if you have power from time to time and you do not feel like a boss all the time, then there are chances of success. Since power affects the way we think, our position is not a post or a position, but a mental state. Think of a time when you didn't feel strong and powerful and your brain could return to reality.

You will be interested in: How does emotionality affect political views?

According to the results of the incrediblea study published in the Journal of Finance in February 2016 found that CEOs who experienced a high-fatal disaster as a child were far less risk averse than those who did not. But tornadoes, volcanoes, and tsunamis are not the only forces holding back arrogance. PepsiCo CEO and Chairman of the Board Indra Noyi told The Atlantic that we all need to be mindful of ordinary circumstances and the need to stay on the ground.

Anyway, the results listed in thisThe research article suggests to me that unlimited power, with absolutely no constraints, can turn a person into a sociopathic incapable of empathy. What do you think about this? We will wait for the answer here, as well as in the comments to this article.

Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!